Porsche SeriesSportscars

The World’s Greatest Porsche Race Announced for 2011

1 Mins read

200 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars will descend on the Nurburgring Nordschleife for the Porsche Carrera World Cup – the world's greatest Porsche race.

The race – run over six laps of the legendary 'Green Hell' – will take place on June 25 – also the weekend of the 2011 of the Nurburgring 24 Hours.

The World Cup event will be one of the highlights for the 18 trophy series the marque runs around the world, and the race will even count as a round for some of the championships, most notably Scandanavia and Germany. Cup cars from 2007 to 2011 models will be eligible for entry with the field being split into two classes – the more powerful 2010 and 2011 machinery making up the premier class

While still in its early stages organisers of the Carrera Cup GB are already seemingly optimistic of teams from the series travelling to Germany. “We are looking at being involved,” said championship manager, Marion Barnaby. “We are talking to teams about the logistics of this event and will announce more details in the New Year.”

For drivers making their first racing visit to the track instruction from former Porsche works driver Saascha Maassen will be part of an intensive two-day training programme in the week ahead of the event.

Related posts
Shows and EventsSportscars

E-Type celebrates 60th Birthday with a special anniversary race

1 Mins read
In 2021, The Silverstone Classic will be celebrating their delayed 30th anniversary and the E-Type will be celebrating it’s 60th Birthday in style
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupSportscars

2021 GT World Challenge Europe Calendar is unveiled

1 Mins read
The calendar for the 2021 GT World Challenge has been unveiled with a new addition to the schedule.

Ernie Francis Jr. becomes ninth SRX driver, youngest of the field so far

1 Mins read
22-year-old Ernie Francis Jr. is easily the youngest driver of the Superstar Racing Experience field. The seven-time Trans-Am champion has been announced as the series’ ninth driver.

Leave a Reply