VW Racing Cup

Chaplin And Mason Confirm VW Cup Assault

1 Mins read

2010 Volkswagen Racing Cup frontrunners Steve Chaplin and Aaron Mason are amongst the first drivers to sign up for the FUCHS Lubricants-backed series for the new season.

Reigning champion Chaplin will defend his title in his 'Herbie' liveried Beetle RSI, his sixth season in the car. Mason, will challenge in his Golf GTI which took him to three wins on his way to third in the championship last season, though for the new season, will be run with a DSG semi-automatic gearbox.

Doncaster based Mason explains: “Nobody seems really to have explored the potential of the DSG in a front-running car, so we thought we'd give it a try to see if it gains us some time. We have tested it once already but the system needs more work before we can be sure it is an advantage.”

The 31-year-old has clear aims for the new season, adding: “The objective in 2010 was the podium, and our first podium was a win, which was absolutely brilliant. The plan for 2011 is to bag a few more wins and, above all, to be consistent.”

Joining Mason in the AWM Comline squad will be Tim Snaylam and Martyn Walsh, the drivers who won the teams championship prize alongside him last season. Both drivers will also race Golfs, with Walsh looking to build on a strong rookie year in 2010 that saw him come 12th in the championship.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
InterviewsVW Racing Cup

2018 Champion Jamie Bond: "We've Probably had the Worst Year Ever"

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond spoke to TCF about his rollercoaster year in the Volkswagen Racing Cup, where he clinched the title last weekend.
VW Racing Cup

Bond Narrowly Clinches VW Cup After Dramatic Finale at Donington

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond beat Ruaridh Clark by 12 points to secure the VW Racing Cup in 2018, while Josh Coggan starred at Donington.
VW Racing Cup

Bond Pulls Away in VW Cup Title Fight after Croft

3 Mins read
Jamie Bond was the man to watch at Croft, extending his championship lead, while Mark Wakefield recorded his first VW win.