Porsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche SeriesSportscars

Carrera Cup Deutschland Kicks Off At Hockenheim

1 Mins read

The Porsche Carrera Cup Germany season begins at Hockenheim this weekend in support of the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters.

Frenchman Nicolas Armindo will be aiming to retain the title that he claimed in 2010. The 29-year-old lines up for Hermes Attempto Racing once again. Armindo's teammate this season is Nicki Thiim of Denmark. The 22-year-old, who is the son of former DTM racer Kurt Thiim, previously competed in the Carrera Cup in 2009.

One of the men aiming to take the title from Armindo this year will be the veteran Uwe Alzen. The 43-year-old is a former champion of both the Carrera Cup Deutschland and the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup.  After finishing third in 2010, Alzen returns this year with his own team – PZ Aschaffenburg Uwe Alzen Automotive.

Two more contenders come from the Deutsche Post by tolimit squad, in Dutchman Jeroen Bleekemolen and Briton Sean Edwards. Bleekemolen is a former double Supercup champion who will be looking for a successful return to the Carrera Cup after a year away, while Edwards has been a race winner in the Supercup in recent seasons.

Jan Seyffarth, who finished third in 2009 and was runner-up the year before that, returns to the series with his father's SMS Seyffarth Motorsport team. His teammate is Kris Heidorn, the winner of the Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup last year.

The highlight of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland calendar in 2011 is the Porsche Carrera World Cup event that will be held on the legendary Nurburgring Nordschleife on 25th June, which will also welcome competitors from French, British, Italian and Scandinavian Carrera Cup competitions, as well as being a round of the Supercup.

2011 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Calendar:

1. Hockenheim – 1 May
2. Zandvoort, Netherlands – 15 May
3. Red-Bull-Ring, Austria – 5 June
4. Lausitz – 19 June
5. Porsche Carrera World Cup, Nürburgring – 25 June
6. Norisring – 3 July
7. Nurburgring – 7 August
8. Oschersleben – 18 September
9. Hockenheim – 23 October

Related posts
Endurance RacingFIA WECNurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesPorsche Series

Porsche Manthey-Racing mark 25th anniversary with new partnership

3 Mins read
Porsche Manthey-Racing are celebrating their 25th anniversary this year, with a new partnership having enjoyed significant success in GT racing since 1996.
ADAC GT MastersFormula 1GT World ChallengeIntercontinental GT ChallengeSportscars

Mercedes AMG to work more closely with Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team

3 Mins read
Mercedes AMG have announced a re-structuring, which involves the sportscar department and the Formula 1 department working more closely together, as well as integrating the E-sports team into factory life.
Nurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesSportscars

Sabine Schmitz: 1969 - 2021

1 Mins read
The racing world is mourning the loss of a legend today after the news that Sabine Schmitz has lost her long battle with cancer.

Leave a Reply