MotorcyclesWorld Superbike

Biaggi Leaves Rivals Trailing in Monza Superpole

2 Mins read

Max Biaggi was in dominant form at Monza as he stormed to his first pole position of the 2011 World Superbike Championship.

The Italian already had it sewn up before starting his final flying lap, but still managed to knock half a second off his original pole time.

The reigning WSBK champion set a time of 1:41.745, giving him an advantage of 0.648s over Yamaha's Eugene Laverty.

The Irishman was near the top of the timesheets in all three sessions and was Biaggi's nearest challenger in Superpole 3.

Jonathan Rea's strong form from Assen continued with the Castrol Honda rider going third quickest. His teammate Ruben Xaus had a nightmare time though, not even making it into Superpole and qualifying 17th.

Surprisingly, Troy Corser was the fastest of the BMWs, who didn't enjoy the same advantage they had on Friday. The Australian qualified fourth with teammate Leon Haslam sixth, just behind Marco Melandri.

Michel Fabrizio got the Alstare Suzuki onto the second row in seventh while Noriyuki Haga sneaked into SP3 after beating Ayrton Badovini by 0.015s at the end of the second session.

The BMW Motorrad Italia rider will head up row three, while Leon Camier couldn't match the dominant pace of his teammate and will start tenth.

You have to go all the way back to 11th place to find championship leader Carlos Checa. The Althea Racing Ducati seemed to struggle on the high speed straights of the 5.777km circuit and Checa struggled even to make it through the first session.

In the end, he was less than a tenth quicker than Joan Lascorz, the fastest Kawasaki, and the World Superbike rookie will start 13th, with teammate Tom Sykes alongside in 14th.

Jakub Smrz was down in 15th while Maxime Berger fulfilled his promise to get into the Superpole session. The Frenchman got no further than that though and will start 16th.


Pos Rider Team Lap Time
1 Max Biaggi Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team 1:41.745
2 Eugene Laverty Yamaha World Superbike Team 1:42.393
3 Jonathan Rea Castrol Honda 1:42.614
4 Troy Corser BMW Motorrad Motorsport 1:42.688
5 Marco Melandri Yamaha World Superbike Team 1:42.714
6 Leon Haslam BMW Motorrad Motorsport 1:42.723
7 Michel Fabrizio Team Suzuki Alstare 1:42.954
8 Noriyuki Haga PATA Racing Team Aprilia 1:43.043
Eliminated in Superpole 2
9 Ayrton Badovini BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team 1:42.886
10 Leon Camier Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team 1:42.995
11 Carlos Checa Althea Racing 1:43.116
12 Sylvain Guintoli Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing 1:43.146
Eliminated in Superpole 1
13 Joan  Lascorz Kawasaki Racing Team 1:43.090
14 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team 1:43.437
15 Jakub Smrz Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing 1:43.993
16 Maxime Berger Supersonic Racing Team 1:44.005
Failed to Qualify for Superpole Session
17 Ruben Xaus Castrol Honda 1:44.216
18 Roberto Rolfo Team Pedercini 1:44.515
19 James Toseland BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team 1:44.989
20 Mark Aitchison Team Pedercini 1:45.022
21 Fabrizio Lai Echo Sport Racing Company Honda 1:45.739



5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotorcyclesOff Road

Triumph, Harley-Davidson enjoy success at Baja Aragon

2 Mins read
Triumph and Harley-Davidson do not have much off-road experience, but both were successful in their Baja Aragón campaigns with Iván Cervantes and Joan Pedrero.
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.