Porsche Carrera Cup DeutschlandPorsche SeriesSportscars

Tandy Wins Damp Season Opener At Hockenheim

2 Mins read

Nick Tandy won the opening round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland at Hockenheim after a gamble on tyre strategy made at the beginning of the race paid off.

With rain falling shortly before the start of the race some decided to change to wet tyres, including polesitter Robert Renauer. Tandy, staying on slicks, inherited the front row all to himself and built up a lead that the Konrad Motorsport driver would never surrender.

Rene Rast, who beat Tandy to the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup title last season, finished in second for Forch Racing. He closed up on Tandy during the second half of the race, but had to settle for second place in the end. Sean Edwards came through to finish in third for Deutsche Post by tolimit, after starting 14th on the grid, joining fellow Briton Tandy on the podium.

“Under such conditions, the race was really difficult, but it was great fun for exactly this reason,” said Tandy. “I gave more than 100 percent, particularly in the first few laps in order to build up a decent gap. Around the mid-way point I slackened off the pace a little. And in the last laps Rene put the pressure on and came closer and closer. So I had to put my foot down again to bring home victory.”

Rast said: “It was a difficult race for me. Unfortunately, my start wasn't the best and Uwe Alzen got past me. By the time I overtook him, Nick had already put a decent gap between us. Okay, I managed to reduce the gap but it wasn't enough to win. Still, I'm happy with our start to the season with my Forch team.”

Edwards added: “What a race! Because I only started from 14th on the grid I lost a lot of time in the first half. I got caught up in duels between drivers who'd started on wet tyres and came from behind. I couldn't regain that time again. But I'm happy with third place.”

Edwards' teammate Jeroen Bleekemolen finished fourth, relegating Uwe Alzen to fifth place towards the end. Jan Seyffarth was sixth, with Jaap van Lagen seventh. The duel between the pair would see van Lagen go off the circuit and recover the car on the wet grass. Pole Robert Lukas finished eighth, ahead of two Carrera Cup newcomers – Philipp Frommenwiler and Johann Ledermair.

The decision of Renauer, reigning champion Nicolas Armindo and Nicki Thiim to switch to wet tyres at the start did not pay off, as the track dried later on. Renauer finished 12th, with Hermes Attempto Racing teammates Armindo and Thiim both a lap down, with Armindo last.

The second round of the season takes place at Zandvoort in the Netherlands on 15th May.

Final results after 18 laps:

Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nick Tandy Konrad Motorsport 33:26.830
2 Rene Rast Forch Racing +1.072
3 Sean Edwards Team Deutsche Post by tolimit +5.752
4 Jeroen Bleekemolen Team Deutsche Post by tolimit +8.492
5 Uwe Alzen PZ Aschaffenburg Uwe Alzen Automotive +8.688
6 Jan Seyffarth SMS Seyffarth Motorsport +13.890
7 Jaap van Lagen Land Motorsport +19.319
8 Robert Lukas Forch Racing +37.530
9 Philipp Frommenwiler Attempto Racing +58.844
10 Johann Ledermair Konrad Motorsport +59.145
11 Damian Sawicki Aust Motorsport +1:03.158
12 Robert Renauer Herberth Motorsport +1:08.505
13 Kris Heidorn SMS Seyffarth Motorsport +1:37.834
14 Nicki Thiim Hermes Attempto Racing +1 lap
15 Stefan Wendt Attempto Racing +1 lap
16 Clemens Schmid Herberth Motorsport +1 lap
17 Nicolas Armindo Hermes Attempto Racing +1 lap
Related posts
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupSportscars

AKKA ASP announces Pro driver line-ups for the 2021 Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS season.

1 Mins read
AKKA ASP has announced it’s Pro class crews for the 2021 Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS season.
Endurance RacingGT World Challenge EuropeGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupSportscars

Porsche squad Dinamic Motorsport confirms 2021 plans to challenge for overall Endurance Cup honours

1 Mins read
Dinamic Motorsport have confirmed that they are once again to contest the Endurance Cup as part of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS .
Endurance RacingNurburgring 24 HoursSportscars

Falken confirms two car entry for 2021 Nürburgring 24 Hours and NLS Series

2 Mins read
After a disrupted 2020, Falken Motorsports have announced there 2021 plans as well as drivers which will take on the mighty Nordschleife.

Leave a Reply