2011 Isle of Man TT Races – Round-Up

by Louis Suddaby

The 2011 Isle of Man TT races, which marked the centenary of racing on the mountain course, provided plenty more of the thrills and spills that have become synonymous with the event. This year's TT saw six different winners in seven races and here is the chance to see how they did it with a bundle of links to The Checkered Flag’s race reports – just click on the race title.

Saturday 4th June – Sure Sidecar Race 1

After winning both of last year's races, Klaus Klaffenbock & Daniel Sayle completed a hat trick of TT race victories. After overtaking John Holden & Andy Winkle on lap one, the Austrian/Manx pairing dominated the race to win by over 11 seconds.

Saturday 4th June – Dainese Superbike

Bruce Anstey had led the way through qualifying and looked like giving John McGuinness a run for his money in the race too. But the Kiwi rider fell out at Quarry Bends on the third lap, clearing the way for McGuinness to take his 16th TT race victory.

Monday 6th June – Monster Energy Supersport One

The race was marred by tragedy after 34 year old Irishman Derek Brien was killed in an accident at Gorse Lea. The race was red flagged and shortened to a three lap dash, and this time, the luck turned for Bruce Anstey who inherited the victory on the final lap when Cameron Donald's Honda broke down.

Monday 6th June – Royal London 360 Superstock

Michael Dunlop had good reason to believe that the day's Supersport race should have been his, but there would be no stopping him in the Superstock race. His second lap was a full 13 seconds quicker than anyone else and that would lay the foundation for a comfortable win.

Thursday 9th June – Sure Sidecar Race 2

Klaus Klaffenbock & Daniel Sayle looked set for yet another victory before disaster struck on the final lap. A broken water hose clip caused them to slow down and it was left to race one runners-up, John Holden & Andy Winkle, to win their first ever TT race.

Thursday 9th June – Monster Energy Supersport Two

Supersport Two would see another brand new winner at the Isle of Man TT with Gary Johnson leading from start to finish. John McGuinness held off Guy Martin took second place and strengthen his lead in the TT Championship with one day to go.

Friday 10th June – Pokerstars Senior TT

John McGuinness ended the week of racing the way it began by winning the blue riband race, the Senior TT. The Morecambe man became a 17-time winner on the Isle of Man and also clinched the Joey Dunlop Trophy by 31 points over Guy Martin and Keith Amor.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More