TT 2011: Anstey Ends Qualifying On Top As Race Week Approaches

Bruce Anstey put in a last gasp flying lap to become the fastest qualifier at the 2011 Isle of Man TT fuelled by Monster Energy, and with it, secured the Graham Watches Award.

The solo riders missed a day's practice after an oil spillage on Thursday but the New Zealander seemed unaffected, clocking a 131.431mph lap in the final moments of Friday's final qualifying session, and only just missed out on the outright lap record in the process.

His late flyer put him 6.45s ahead of John McGuinness who lapped at 130.615mph while Guy Martin and Michael Dunlop were also above the 130moh barrier in third and fourth, with only 0.40s separating them.

Gary Johnson was fifth for Lincs Lifting Ltd and Michael Rutter made it into the top six on the 1200cc Riders Bathams Ducati. Cameron Donald was down in seventh with his best time of the week coming on Tuesday evening and the same can be said for Ryan Farquhar after he crashed his Superbike at Keppel Gate.

Michael Dunlop claimed top spot in the Superstock class and was the only man in the field to go over 130mph. The Northern Irishman edged out Johnson for second while Anstey's best lap from Wednesday was enough for third.

Dunlop was also the fastest qualifier in the Supersport class after his rivals failed to better his time from Tuesday evening. As a result, his 125.464mph lap kept him ahead of Cameron Donald who also failed to improve after setting his best time two days ago.

Bruce Anstey and William Dunlop remained third and fourth with John McGuinness the highest placed rider to improve on Friday, climbing up to fifth on the Padgetts Motorcycles Honda, lapping at 123.516mph. Keith Amor also improved to eighth in Supersport qualifying as he rode for the first time since dislocating his shoulder two days ago.

Klaus Klaffenbock and Dan Sayle narrowly clinched the Graham Watch award as the fastest sidecar qualifiers despite failing to better their time from Wednesday. Their 113.754mph lap held up despite stern competition from Tim Reeves and Ben Birchall who improve to 113.321mph, and John Holden and Andrew Winkle who set a 112.707mph lap to go third.

Racing gets underway at the 2011 Isle of Man TT fuelled by Monster Energy on Saturday, with the Dainese Superbike race kicking things off at midday with the Sure Sidecar race one following at 3pm. Live Radio TT commentary and live timing of all 2011 Isle of Man TT Races will be available at