Porsche Carrera Cup AsiaPorsche Series

Avila Wins Second Ordos Race To Take Standings Lead

2 Mins read

Rodolfo Avila scored his first win of the 2011 Porsche Carrera Cup Asia season in Round 6 at Ordos in China.

Round 5 winner Keita Sawa held his lead from pole position at the start, but an error at Turn 14 on the opening lap allowed second-place starter Avila into the lead.

Sawa lost another place to his LKM Racing teammate Darryl O'Young at Turn 1 on lap three, dropping to third.

O'Young applied pressure to Avila but the Team Jebsen driver held onto his lead until the finish. Alexandre Imperatori would finish third place, having started ninth. He took advantage after Sawa momentarily went off the track.

“It feels great to win,” said Avila, whose win gives him the championship lead. “I did not win a race in the championship last year and I was starting to think that maybe I had forgotten what it felt like.

“The first lap was good, my tyres were up to temperature a little earlier than Sawa's and I tried to pass him but he closed the door. He made a little mistake at the end of the lap and I managed to pass. The car and tyres worked perfectly and I just kept going to the flag. It feels good to lead the championship!”

Brian Wong finished in fifth, just behind Sawa. Sixth was Class B winner Davide Rizzo. Rizzo lost the class lead to Wang Jian Wei after an early error, but regained the position when Wang made a mistake on the final  lap.

The next two rounds of the season takes place at Sepang in Malaysia on 26-28 August.

Round 6 results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Class Entrant Time/Gap
1 Rodolfo Avila A Team Jebsen 24:48.434
2 Darryl O'Young A LKM Racing Team +3.863
3 Alexandre Imperatori A Team StarChase +4.449
4 Keita Sawa A LKM Racing Team +11.059
5 Brian Wong A Absolute Racing +13.257
6 Davide Rizzo B WoYo Racing +22.430
7 Wang Jian Wei B Team BetterLife +22.761
8 Wayne Shen B Modena Motorsports +38.952
9 Ringo Chong B Team Kangshun +45.273
10 Francis Tjia B OpenRoad Racing +56.652
11 Philip Briandet B Philip Briandet +1:04.00
12 Jeffrey Lee B Team Pauian Archiland Absolute Racing +1:21.283
13 Adrian Henry D'Silva B Nexus Racing +1:31.283
14 John Shen* B Modena Motorsports +1:06.316
15 Dr. Ma Chi Min B Asia Racing Team +1:44.824
16 Marcel Tjia B OpenRoad Racing +1:51.976
17 Morris Ku B Team DAYCRAFT +1:53.531
18 Yuey Tan B Wimobilize McElrea Racing 1 Lap
19 Rose Tan B Team C&D 1 Lap
20 Jacky Yeung B Jacky Yeung 1 Lap
DNF Steven Chian A Team Hong Kong Racing
DNF Alain Li B Alain Li
DNF Mak Hing Tak B OMAK
DNF Paul Tresidder B Paul Tresidder
DNF Keith Vong B Asia Racing Team

Championship standings after 6 of 11 rounds:


1. Rodolfo Avila, 104 points
2. Alexandre Imperatori, 103
3. Keita Sawa, 89
4. Brian Wong, 71
5. Wang Jian Wei, 66

Class B

1. Wang Jian Wei, 112
2. Francis Tjia, 88
3. Ringo Chong, 83

Avatar photo
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
Porsche SeriesRally

Block reveals the "Hoonipigasus" 1400hp AWD Porsche for Pikes Peak

1 Mins read
Ken Block has revealed his new purpose built 1,400hp AWD Porsche 911 nicknamed “Hoonipigasus” which he will use for the 2022 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb event in Colorado
Endurance RacingFIA WECNurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesPorsche Series

Porsche Manthey-Racing mark 25th anniversary with new partnership

3 Mins read
Porsche Manthey-Racing are celebrating their 25th anniversary this year, with a new partnership having enjoyed significant success in GT racing since 1996.
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

Next-gen 911 GT3 Cup Set to Debut in Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

2 Mins read
Next-gen 911 GT3 Cup to make debut in the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia as provisional 2021 calendar announced.