Porsche Carrera Cup AsiaPorsche Series

Sawa Wins First Race At Ordos After Last-Lap Collision

2 Mins read

Keita Sawa took a last gasp victory in Round 5 of the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia at Ordos in China, benefiting from a final lap clash between then-leader Alexandre Imperatori and Sawa's LKM Racing teammate Darryl O'Young.

Team StarChase driver Imperatori, who won the opening four races of the season, started the race from third on the grid but took second place from Sawa down the inside of the long right-hander first corner. He then took the lead later on the opening lap when O'Young slid wide.

Imperatori built up a good gap over his rival, but O'Young was able to close this in the closing stages. On the final lap O'Young dived down the inside of Imperatori for the lead, but Imperatori shut the door on him. The subsequent contact sent both spinning, handing Sawa the victory.

“I thought I would wait and see if something would happen – and it did!” said Sawa. “I saw the incident and thought something like that was possible as Darryl and Alex were very close together. But that is racing.”

Imperatori recovered from the incident to cross the line in second place, but was later given a 30-second penalty for his involvement in the contact which dropped him to ninth.

This promoted Rodolfo Avila into second place. The Team Jebsen driver dropped from fourth to ninth on the opening lap after a trip into the gravel, but fought his way back through to take the runner-up spot.

“I tried to recover, push hard and I hoped for people in front to me make mistakes,” Avila said. “I was quite surprised to come out of the chicane to see two cars stopped and I made it past them.”

Brian Wong of Absolute Racing finished in third place, one place ahead of Davide Rizzo who took Class B honours. O'Young came across the line in fifth.

Round 5 results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Class Entrant Time/Gap
1 Keita Sawa A LKM Racing Team 25.05.812
2 Rodolfo Avila A Team Jebsen +7.007
3 Brian Wong A Absolute Racing +7.528
4 Davide Rizzo B WoYo Racing +9.589
5 Darryl O'Young A LKM Racing Team +19.425
6 Wang Jian Wei B Team BetterLife +19.950
7 Ringo Chong B Team Kangshun +28.633
8 Wayne Shen B Modena Motorsports +42.633
9 Alexandre Imperatori* A Team StarChase +36.791
10 Francis Tjia B OpenRoad Racing +1:09.403
11 John Shen B Modena Motorsports +1:15.587
12 Philip Briandet B Philip Briandet +1:19.473
13 Alain Li B Alain Li +1:20.973
14 Mak Hing Tak B OMAK +1:27.373
15 Keith Vong B Asia Racing Team +1:38.108
16 Adrian Henry D'Silva B Nexus Racing +1:38.707
17 Rose Tan B Team C&D +1:43.006
18 Paul Tresidder B Paul Tresidder +1:50.423
19 Marcel Tjia B OpenRoad Racing 1 Lap
20 Steven Chian A Team Hong Kong Racing 1 Lap
21 Jacky Yeung B Jacky Yeung 1 Lap
22 Dr. Ma Chi Min B Asia Racing Team 1 Lap
23 Jeffrey Lee B Team Pauian Archiland Absolute Racing 4 Laps
DNF Yuey Tan B Wimobilize McElrea Racing

* 30 second penalty

Avatar photo
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
Porsche SeriesRally

Block reveals the "Hoonipigasus" 1400hp AWD Porsche for Pikes Peak

1 Mins read
Ken Block has revealed his new purpose built 1,400hp AWD Porsche 911 nicknamed “Hoonipigasus” which he will use for the 2022 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb event in Colorado
Endurance RacingFIA WECNurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesPorsche Series

Porsche Manthey-Racing mark 25th anniversary with new partnership

3 Mins read
Porsche Manthey-Racing are celebrating their 25th anniversary this year, with a new partnership having enjoyed significant success in GT racing since 1996.
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

Next-gen 911 GT3 Cup Set to Debut in Porsche Carrera Cup Asia

2 Mins read
Next-gen 911 GT3 Cup to make debut in the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia as provisional 2021 calendar announced.