Stoner Leads Repsol Honda 1-2 in First Practice

2 Mins read

Casey Stoner was quickest out of the blocks in first practice for the United States Grand Prix at Laguna Seca, setting the pace with just his sixth lap of the weekend. The World Championship leader hit the front eight minutes in the session and was never headed, although teammate Dani Pedrosa did finish just a tenth behind in second.

The Sachsenring winner did have a slight off at turn two early in the session which saw him tip the bike up in the gravel. After a bump start, he was back on his way and all but matched Stoner's 1:22.300, ending up 0.102s adrift.

The chasing pack behind Stoner was led for the most part by Jorge Lorenzo, as is the case in the championship. The Yamaha number one put in a solid run of laps midway through the session, all in the mid to late 1:22s range. The Spaniard finished up 0.120s down on Stoner with Ben Spies backing up his teammate in fourth.

They were followed by two more factory Hondas as Andrea Dovizioso took fifth with Marco Simoncelli so far avoiding the accidents that blighted his only previous visit to Monterey to finish sixth. Laguna Seca specialist Nicky Hayden was the leading Ducati in seventh after trying both the GP11 and GP11.1 during the session as the Italian squad continue their search for pace.

Colin Edwards ensured that three of the four home riders finished in the top ten by going ninth for Tech 3. His flyer late on pushed Valentino Rossi down to ninth after the seven-time MotoGP champion spent much of the session in the garage making adjustments to his GP11.1.

Alvaro Bautista managed to get the sole Suzuki into the top ten, edging out Hector Barbera's (Mapfre Aspar Team) and Randy de Puniet (Pramac Racing) on a pair of customer Ducatis.

Cal Crutchlow spoke in the build-up of his excitement to take on the Corkscrew but that nearly came back to bite him as he took to the gravel at that very corner before finishing 13th. Toni Elias was next up ahead of the returning Loris Capirossi and Laguna rookie Karel Abraham with Hiroshi Aoyama and debutant Ben Bostrom completing the 18-man field.


2011 Red Bull U.S Grand Prix: FP1

Pos Rider Nat Bike Team Time/Gap
1 Casey Stoner AUS Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:22.300
2 Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda Repsol Honda Team +0.102
3 Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing +0.120
4 Ben Spies USA Yamaha Yamaha Factory Racing +0.506
5 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Honda Repsol Honda Team +0.611
6 Marco Simoncelli ITA Honda San Carlo Honda Gresini +0.910
7 Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Ducati Team +0.997
8 Colin Edwards USA Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +1.159
9 Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Ducati Team +1.167
10 Alvaro Bautista SPA Suzuki Rizla Suzuki MotoGP +1.229
11 Hector Barbera SPA Ducati Mapfre Aspar Team MotoGP +1.296
12 Randy de Puniet FRA Ducati Pramac Racing Team +1.507
13 Cal Crutchlow GBR Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +1.718
14 Toni Elias SPA Honda LCR Honda MotoGP +2.024
15 Loris Capirossi ITA Ducati Pramac Racing Team +2.266
16 Karel Abraham CZE Ducati Cardion AB Motoracing +2.382
17 Hiroshi Aoyama JAP Honda San Carlo Honda Gresini +3.025
18 Ben Bostrom (WC) USA Honda LCR Honda MotoGP +4.986
Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
Circuit NewsMotorcycles

Pol Tarres breaks own bike altitude world record

1 Mins read
Yamaha’s rally raid ace Pol Tarrés set the world record for the highest altitude climb on a bike when he ascended 6,677 metres up Ojos del Salado on his Ténéré World Raid.
MotoGPNASCAR Cup Series

Trackhouse Racing Team entering MotoGP in 2024

1 Mins read
NASCAR Cup Series team Trackhouse Racing will become a MotoGP team in 2024 as they partner with Aprilia to field bikes for Miguel Oliveira and Raul Fernandez.
Circuit NewsMotorcycles

FIM ban on Russians, Belarusians to continue into 2024

2 Mins read
As Moscow’s three-day war on Ukraine extends into its 651st day, its riders as well as Minsk’s will remain barred from competing in FIM-sanctioned events through at least the start of 2024.