GP2 Series

Grosjean On Top In Spa GP2 Practice Session

1 Mins read

GP2 champion-in-waiting Romain Grosjean was again in a league of his own in free practice at Spa-Francorchamps. The Frenchman, who will win the title this weekend if he maintains his current advantage in the points, was nearly eight tenths of a second quicker than anyone else in changing conditions.

The session began on a damp track, though the drivers were able to take to the track on slick Pirelli tyres. The session was soon halted however when Jolyon Palmer crashed at La Source, bringing out the red flags. Once the session was restarted Johnny Cecotto Jr. was the early pacesetter, but Grosjean soon moved into first place.

With forecasts of more rain later in the session, the field spent the middle of the session in the pits waiting to see which tyres to fit for the closing stages. The rain did intensify, forcing the drivers to use wet tyres.

This meant that Grosjean's time went unbeaten. Belgian-Romanian Michael Herck was second fastest, just one thousandth of a second ahead of Marcus Ericsson. Grosjean's nearest rivals in the points, the Addax duo of Giedo van der Garde and Charles Pic, were next up in fourth and fifth.

Luiz Razia was sixth, ahead of Max Chilton, Christian Vietoris, Jules Bianchi and Dani Clos. Brendon Hartley, who has rejoined the series in place of Kevin Mirocha at Ocean, was 24th.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1. Romain Grosjean Dams 2:00.634 7
2. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 2:01.413 0.779 8
3. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 2:01.414 0.780 8
4. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 2:01.438 0.804 7
5. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 2:01.467 0.833 6
6. Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 2:01.523 0.889 8
7. Max Chilton Carlin 2:01.650 1.016 7
8. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 2:01.741 1.107 8
9. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 2:01.852 1.218 8
10. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 2:01.950 1.316 9
11. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 2:02.049 1.415 7
12. Sam Bird iSport International 2:02.160 1.526 9
13. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 2:02.169 1.535 5
14. Julian Leal Rapax 2:02.180 1.546 8
15. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 2:02.702 2.068 7
16. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 2:02.885 2.251 5
17. Josef Kral Arden International 2:03.135 2.501 7
18. Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 2:03.403 2.769 8
19 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 2:03.640 3.006 6
20. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 2:03.686 3.052 8
21. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 2:03.934 3.300 7
22. Fabio Leimer Rapax 2:04.892 4.258 8
23. Pal Varhaug Dams 2:05.827 5.193 8
24. Brendon Hartley Ocean Racing Technology 2:05.875 5.241 7
25. Adam Carroll Super Nova Racing 2:09.175 8.541 6
26. Jolyon Palmer Arden International No time 0
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

Leave a Reply