GP3 Series

Bottas Holds Off Calado To Win Monza Thriller And Seal GP3 Title

2 Mins read

Valtteri Bottas has won the 2011 GP3 Series title after holding off teammate and title rival James Calado to win a thrilling Race 1 at Monza.

The ART duo, separated by five points in the standings at the start of the race, began from the third row of the grid but Bottas worked his way into the lead where he was soon joined by Calado.

The safety car made an appearance when polesitter and early leader Adrian Quaife-Hobbs went off, and after the restart Bottas successfully kept Calado at bay to win the race by just 0.3 seconds. That result extended his standings lead to seven points. While Calado would be able to tie with Bottas by winning Race 2 and taking the fastest lap should the Finn not score, he would only have two victories to Bottas' four.

At the start of the race, Quaife-Hobbs maintained his lead from pole position ahead of Nico Muller, while Bottas had moved past both Mitch Evans and Rio Haryanto into third place. Bottas initially lost third again to Haryanto, but soon took it back as Muller passed Quaife-Hobbs for the lead. Bottas then passed Quaife-Hobbs for second, who was soon knocked off the podium by Calado.

Bottas stole the lead from Muller a couple of laps later, and although the Swiss driver fought back a couple of times he could not hold on and soon lost second place to Calado, shortly before Quaife-Hobbs crashed at Ascari out of fourth place. After the restart Muller came under attack from Haryanto and the pair continually swapped positions in the closing laps with the Indonesian eventually winning out to take the final podium spot.

Simon Trummer climbed two places from his grid slot to take an impressive fifth, just ahead of Conor Daly and Antonio Felix da Costa. Mitch Evans kept Nigel Melker at bay to take the final point in eighth and the reverse grid pole for Race 2.

Race 1 results – 16 laps:

 Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 30:03.132
2 James Calado Lotus ART 0.378
3 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 1.513
4 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 2.121
5 Simon Trummer MW Arden 4.297
6 Conor Daly Carlin 4.375
7 Antonio Felix da Costa Status Grand Prix 4.816
8 Mitch Evans MW Arden 5.937
9 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 5.986
10 Richie Stanaway Lotus ART 8.572
11 Callum MacLeod Carlin 12.44
12 Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 12.88
13 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 13.23
14 Thomas Hylkema Tech 1 Racing 17.13
15 Daniel Mancinelli RSC Mucke Motorsport 17.31
16 Christophe Hurni Jenzer Motorsport 24.47
17 Gabby Chaves Addax Team 25.22
18 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 25.94
19 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 38.99
20 Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 40.12
21 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix + 1 lap
22 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing + 2 laps
Ret Tom Dillmann Addax Team 13 laps
Ret Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 10 laps
Ret Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 9 laps
Ret Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 8 laps
Ret Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 2 laps
Ret Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 0 laps
Ret Vittorio Ghirelli Addax Team 0 laps
Ret Maxim Zimin Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.