Auto GP

Haryanto Flies To First Win In Auto GP At Valencia

1 Mins read

Indonesian youngster Rio Haryanto picked up his maiden victory in Auto GP in the second race at Valencia.

Starting from fourth on the grid, Haryanto made a good getaway to move into second place behind polesitter Adam Carroll. He applied constant pressure on the Northern Irishman, getting past at Turn 2 on lap five.

From there he quickly pulled away, opening up a nine second lead on his way to the checkered flag. The result completed a double win for the DAMS team after Sergey Afanasiev won the first race. It also meant that Haryanto took home the maximum prize money from the weekend, scooping 60,000 euros.

“I’m really happy with this first Auto GP win,” said Haryanto. “I got very close to that in Brno and then it faded away, so today when I saw the chance I did all I could to take it.

“I had a great start and I managed to pass Buttarelli, and from then on I knew that the only chance I had was putting pressure on Adam, hoping for a mistake or for some room in a corner sooner or later. I also knew that it had to happen early in the race because then tyre wear would have made things more difficult. Luckily the ‘plan’ came together quite early, and from then on things were easier as my pace was really good. I want to say thanks to DAMS, they did a great job.”

Carroll held onto second place under intense pressure from Samuele Buttarelli. Carroll's Campos Racing teammate Adrien Tambay took fourth at the team's home race, after keeping the Lazarus duo of Fabrizio Crestani and Fabio Onidi at bay. Title rivals Luca Filippi and Kevin Ceccon completed the top eight.

Ceccon holds a seven point lead over Afanasiev in the standings, with Filippi a further eight behind heading to the season finale at Mugello in Italy on the first weekend in October.

Race results – 17 laps:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Rio Haryanto Dams 24:42.401
2 Adam Carroll Campos Racing 9.479
3 Samuele Buttarelli TP Formula 10.204
4 Adrien Tambay Campos Racing 11.597
5 Fabrizio Crestani Lazarus 11.773
6 Fabio Onidi Lazarus 12.135
7 Luca Filippi Supernova Racing 14.732
8 Kevin Ceccon Ombra Racing 17.155
9 Giovanni Venturini Griffitz Durango 18.011
10 Pasquale Di Sabatino TP Formula 19.728
11 Daniel Dejong MP Motorsport 21.469
12 Giuseppe Cipriani Griffitz Durango 31.581
13 Francesco Dracone Ombra Racing 32.811
14 Sergei Afanasiev Dams 1:01.395
15 Adrian Campos Jr Campos Racing +2 laps
Related posts
Auto GP

Auto GP season postponed due to entry levels

1 Mins read
Dwindling entry levels has forced the 2015 Auto GP season to be put on hold, with this weekend’s round at Paul Ricard cancelled.
Auto GP

Sa Silva holds off Regalia for race two victory

1 Mins read
Luis Sa Silva took his maiden Auto GP victory in thrilling style, holding off Facu Regalia by just 0.048s.
Auto GP

Pizzonia beats Regalia to take Silverstone opener

1 Mins read
Antonio Pizzonia jumped Facu Regalia at the start and was untouchable throughout to take his second Auto GP win of 2015 at Silverstone.

Leave a Reply