Vergne Lays Down A Marker In Practice One

Jean-Eric Vergne (Photo Credit: World Series by Renault/Gilles Levent-DPPI)
Jean-Eric Vergne (Photo Credit: World Series by Renault/Gilles Levent-DPPI)

JeanEric Vergne topped the timesheets in Practice One at Paul Ricard by over six tenths of a second from Carlin team mate and title rival Robert Wickens at Paul Ricard this morning.

Vergne, who trails his Canadian team mate by 34 points, was quickest by 0.673 seconds in the opening practice session on World Series by Renault’s inaugural round at Le Castellet with a lap of 1:52.469.

Carlin were supreme in winter testing at the French circuit and their immediate pace will be a significant warning to the rest of the field.

The nearest non-Carlin runner was Epic‘s Albert Costa, while Daniil Move and Brendon Hartley in fourth and fifth were the only two drivers to be within a second of Vergne’s fastest time.

Daniel Ricciardo, competing in his final Formula Renault 3.5 race of the season because the final round in Barcelona clashes with the Japanese Grand Prix, was 17th quickest.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
 1.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Carlin           1m52.469s
 2.  Robert Wickens     Carlin           1m53.142s  + 0.673s
 3.  Albert Costa       Epic             1m53.368s  + 0.899s
 4.  Daniil Move        P1               1m53.378s  + 0.909s
 5.  Brendon Hartley    Gravity-Charouz  1m53.443s  + 0.974s
 6.  Sten Pentus        Epic             1m53.491s  + 1.022s
 7.  Kevin Korjus       Tech 1           1m53.533s  + 1.064s
 8.  Nelson Panciatici  KMP              1m53.565s  + 1.096s
 9.  Stephane Richelmi  Draco            1m53.828s  + 1.359s
10.  Cesar Ramos        Fortec           1m54.059s  + 1.590s
11.  Jan Charouz        Gravity-Charouz  1m54.061s  + 1.592s
12.  Alexander Rossi    Fortec           1m54.096s  + 1.627s
13.  Daniel de Jong     Comtec           1m54.102s  + 1.633s
14.  Daniel McKenzie    Comtec           1m54.152s  + 1.683s
15.  Sergio Canamasas   BVM Target       1m54.235s  + 1.766s
16.  Walter Grubmuller  P1               1m54.285s  + 1.816s
17.  Daniel Ricciardo   ISR              1m54.465s  + 1.996s
18.  Nick Yelloly       Pons             1m54.588s  + 2.119s
19.  Nathanael Berthon  ISR              1m54.742s  + 2.273s
20.  Daniel Zampieri    BVM Target       1m54.789s  + 2.320s
21.  Andre Negrao       Draco            1m54.809s  + 2.340s
22.  Jake Rosenzweig    Mofaz            1m54.886s  + 2.417s
23.  Oliver Webb        Pons             1m55.412s  + 2.943s
24.  Arthur Pic         Tech 1           1m55.687s  + 3.218s
25.  Fairuz Fauzy       Mofaz            1m55.731s  + 3.262s
26.  Anton Nebylitskiy  KMP              1m56.312s  + 3.843s