GP2 Series

Vietoris Wins Season Finale As Filippi Becomes Runner-Up

2 Mins read

Christian Vietoris ended the GP2 Series season on a high with victory in the final race of the season at Monza. In doing so, the German repeated his win in the Italian sprint race from 12 months ago.

The story coming into the race was the fight over second place in the championship standings behind champion Romain Grosjean, with all six previous vice-champions having gone on to race in Formula 1. Charles Pic, starting the sprint race from seventh, led the way one point ahead of feature race winner Luca Filippi. Jules Bianchi though was only three points behind Pic and was starting the race from pole position courtesy of the reverse grid.

The pressure was on the ART driver, who would have been keen to secure the place to banish the memory of a dreadful start to the season that killed off his championship challenge before it ever really began.

When the race got underway neither he nor fellow front row starter Fabio Leimer got away particularly well, and it was third-place-starter Vietoris who carved his way through the middle of them to take the lead. Bianchi ran across the inside of the chicane as he fought for second with Leimer. Although he ended up in the lead he would have to retreat to third place.

Further back Charles Pic ran into the back of Grosjean's car in the middle of the chicane, getting his front wing lodged against his front right tyre. With little control over his steering, Pic rubbed alongside Filippi before retiring off to the left and leaving his chances of holding onto the runner-up spot out of his hands. Grosjean meanwhile had to visit the pits for a new rear wing before rejoining two laps down.

Up front Leimer was able to pull alongside Vietoris into the second chicane but couldn't get the job done and would have to settle for second place behind the Racing Engineering driver, who scored his second win from four races.

Bianchi completed the podium in third after keeping Sam Bird at bay. Adam Carroll had been fourth early on but lost places to Bird and Filippi before later falling to 11th by the flag. Filippi's fifth place finish was enough to tie with Bianchi for second place overall, which would have seen the Italian take the honours as a result of having more wins. He confirmed the championship result with the fastest lap, which gave him a bonus point.

Esteban Gutierrez completed the points in sixth, seven seconds behind Filippi having been held up behind Carroll for several laps.

Sprint race results – 21 laps:





1 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 32:51.770
2 Fabio Leimer Rapax 0.730
3 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 2.851
4 Sam Bird iSport International 3.556
5 Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 4.010
6 Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 10.957
7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering 11.584
8 Marcus Ericsson iSport International 16.079
9 Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 17.619
10 Pal Varhaug DAMS 19.814
11 Adam Carroll Super Nova Racing 22.136
12 Alvaro Parente Carlin 22.617
13 Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 22.966
14 Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing 24.538
15 Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology 35.241
16 Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 35.408
17 Josef Kral Arden International 35.681
18 Max Chilton Carlin 36.244
19 Jolyon Palmer Arden International 37.728
20 Brendon Hartley Ocean Racing Technology 83.392
21 Romain Grosjean DAMS + 2 laps
Ret Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 12 laps
Ret Julian Leal Rapax 0 laps
Ret Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 0 laps
Ret Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 0 laps

Final drivers' standings after 9 rounds:




1 Romain Grosjean 89
2 Luca Filippi 54
3 Jules Bianchi 53
4 Charles Pic 52
5 Giedo van der Garde 49
6 Sam Bird 45
7 Christian Vietoris 35
8 Davide Valsecchi 30
9 Dani Clos 30
10 Marcus Ericsson 25
11 Stefano Coletti 22
12 Luiz Razia 19
13 Esteban Gutierrez 15
14 Fabio Leimer 15
15 Josef Kral 15
16 Alvaro Parente 8
17 Adam Carroll 6
18 Fairuz Fauzy 5
19 Brendon Hartley 4
20 Max Chilton 4
21 Michael Herck 1
22 Kevin Mirocha 0
23 Pal Varhaug 0
24 Johnny Cecotto 0
25 Oliver Turvey 0
26 Rodolfo Gonzalez 0
27 Julian Leal 0
28 Jolyon Palmer 0
29 Davide Rigon 0
30 Kevin Ceccon 0
31 Stephane Richelmi 0
32 Mikhail Aleshin 0
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply