Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

2011 Britcar 24 Hours: Hour 15 Update

1 Mins read
Eclipse race towards the sunrise (Photo Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

Eclipse race towards the sunrise (Photo Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

Amidst the dawn, the Eclipse Motorsport-prepared Ferrari 430 continues to lead the Britcar 24 Hour race at Silverstone.

Piloted by Sean McInerney, the entry maintained its solid run at the front, embellishing its three lap gap to the Topcats Racing Mosler in second place.

Indeed, where the Topcats racers were initially facing a potential battle with the MJC Ferrari 430, suddenly a large gap opened up.

On lap 340, the 2010 winners drew into the pits with a cracked manifold – a problem that would force their retirement. By the end of the fifteenth hour, Gamski had fallen to ninth spot on the timing screens.

It brought Nigel Mustill's Aquila CR1 into the top three. The Chamberlain Synergy operation started the hour in 5th, overtaking Nicholas Mee Racing Aston Martin in the process.

With MJC's misfortune, NMR returned to 4th overall, while leading Class Three – a clear lap ahead of the front running Class Two machine, Topcats Racing Marcos Mantis GT3.

The Marcos International run Lotus Evora assumed 6th ahead of the Intersport BMW M3, with Paul Winter's Dorset Sports Cars Porsche looking on in 8th, albeit five laps adrift.

Brunswick Automotive's BMW M3 leads the Class 4 field, while holding 10th overall – a solid performance by the all-British squad, as they maintain an eight-lap lead over their nearest class rivals, the Red Camel's SEAT Leon.

The day ended prematurely for Paul White's Strata 21 machine. After a difficult Saturday, the Mosler GT3 retired with an overheating engine.

2011 Britcar 24 Hours class leaders after hour fifteen

Class One:
1 – No.2 Ferrari – McInerney/McInerney/Keen
2 – No.3 Mosler – Beaumont/Fletcher/Draper/Hetherington
3 – No.6 Aquila – Mustill/Berridge/Evans/Martin

Class Two:
1 – No.27 Marcos – Upton/Huggins/Fletcher/Orton
2 – No.5 Porsche – Konopka/O'Donnell/Myszkowski/Lewandowski/Edwards

Class Three:
1 – No.49 Aston Martin – Le Blanc/Van Lanschot/De Zille/Nimkoff
2 – No.57 Lotus – Euser/Prewitt/Brody/Freebird/McKinnon
3 – No.68 BMW – Clarke/Gibson/Radcliffe/Hayes

Class Four:
1 – No.89 BMW – Griffiths/Green/Forsbrey/Kirkpatrick
2 – N0.84 Seat – Breukers/Thijssen/Jensiew/Han
3 – No.88 Honda – Smail/Meins/Lillingston-Price/Harding

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritcarFIA WECInterviewsSportscars

The car behind Brabham's return to the race track - BT62

8 Mins read
David Brabham and Will Powell piloted the Brabham BT62 to victory on its on-track debut at Brands Hatch earlier this month, and shed more light to The Checkered Flag on plans to return an iconic name to elite level motorsport.
BritcarInterviewsTouring Cars

Tim Docker - "I'm looking forward to returning to Britcar"

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag had the chance to speak to 2018 Britcar Endurance racer and TCR UK Debutant Tim Docker at the 2019 Autosport International Show about last season and his plans for this year.
BritcarGinetta GT4 Supercup

Supercup Champion Crees To Race BTCC Toyota In Britcar

1 Mins read
Ginetta GT4 Supercup AM Class champion Michael Crees will make his Britcar debut next weekend with Team HARD.

Leave a Reply