Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Formula Renault 3.5

Marco Sorensen Quickest Overall In Collective Test Two

2 Mins read
Formula Renault 3.5 at Barcelona (Photo Credit: Renault Sport)

Formula Renault 3.5 at Barcelona (Photo Credit: Renault Sport)

The Danes continued their domination at the top of the standings in the Formula Renault 3.5 collective tests as Marco Sorensen was quickest in the second session in Barcelona.

After Kevin Magnussen had set the pace for Carlin on Tuesday, it was German F3 runner up Sorensen who stole the show for Gravity-Charouz.

His time of 1:32.815secs was the fastest time over the two days, albeit on a much gripper track, to head P1's Arthur Pic by a small margin of 0.035secs.

The 21 year old said: “I've only ever driven a Formula Renault 3.5 once, back in 2009, after my first season in Formula Renault 2.0. Today I have more experience, particularly in F3, but there's a big difference in performance between the two cars. Yesterday I had to find my feet again and get to know the team. Very early in the morning we put on new tyres and it worked.

“Next season will be interesting, because with the new car all the teams will be starting from scratch. We have to be ready!”

Pic finished the day second for P1 having partnered Kevin Korjus at Tech 1 Racing last season.

And the 2010 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup runner-up is hoping his testing performances will ensure he remains in FR3.5 for a second term.

“It's positive to discover a new team and a new approach. I've driven nearly 150 laps in two days, so we've had a really busy schedule. When we've been able to use the new tyres we've set some good times.

“After a season as an apprentice, the logical step is to continue in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, but I don't yet know with which team.”

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs continued his impressive pace for Comtec to complete the top tree, while Tuesday's pacesetter Magnussen was fourth for Carlin.

Daniel Abt, who was seventh in F3 Euroseries this season, completed the top five.

Another notable debutant was Robin Frijns, who won the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup in 2011.

He was 14th for ISR in the second collective test and is targeting getting the correct budget so he can compete in FR3.5 in 2012.

Frijns said: “Today was my first day in the car. I've never driven such a powerful car. So today's goal was to build up my confidence lap by lap. The cornering speed is rather impressive and physically the car is so much more demanding than Formula Renault 2.0. My neck hurts… I improved throughout the day, even sending the car into a spin. But that's part of the learning curve!

“The €500,000 prize I received from Renault Sport Technologies for winning my title was very handy. But I still need to raise more funds for 2012. We're working on that now.”


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
 1.  Marco Sorensen       Gravity-Charouz  1m32.815s
 2.  Arthur Pic           P1               1m32.850s  + 0.035s
 3.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Comtec           1m33.065s  + 0.250s
 4.  Kevin Magnussen      Carlin           1m33.092s  + 0.277s
 5.  Daniel Abt           Pons             1m33.174s  + 0.359s
 6.  Walter Grubmueller   P1               1m33.242s  + 0.427s
 7.  Valtteri Bottas      Tech 1           1m33.372s  + 0.557s
 8.  Vittorio Ghirelli    BVM Target       1m33.638s  + 0.823s
 9.  Cesar Ramos          Epic             1m33.666s  + 0.851s
10.  Zoel Amberg          Pons             1m33.693s  + 0.878s
11.  Nico Muller          Carling          1m34.039s  + 1.224s
12.  Carlos Huertas       Fortec           1m34.149s  + 1.334s
13.  Rio Haryanto         Epic             1m34.159s  + 1.344s
14.  Robin Frinjs         ISR              1m34.228s  + 1.413s
15.  Will Stevens         Fortec           1m34.317s  + 1.502s
16.  Lucas Foresti        Tech 1           1m34.429s  + 1.614s
17.  Giovanni Venturini   Draco            1m34.516s  + 1.701s
18.  Daniel de Jong       Draco            1m34.537s  + 1.722s
19.  Anton Nebylitskiy    KMP              1m34.630s  + 1.815s
20.  Nikola Martsenko     BVM Target       1m34.980s  + 2.165s
21.  Adrien Tambay        KMP              1m35.031s  + 2.216s
22.  Yann Cunha           Gravity-Charouz  1m35.034s  + 2.219s
23.  Adderly Fong         Comtec           1m35.830s  + 3.015s
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossFormula 4Formula Renault 3.5

#BakkerudLife | Testing FORMULA Cars For The FIRST TIME! Red Bull Ring

1 Mins read
In preparation for his upcoming DTM test, Andreas Bakkerud figured he needed some downforce training, and what better way to do it – than a sunny Red Bull Ring day kind of way.
Formula Renault 3.5Indy Lights

Stoneman in Indy Lights move with Andretti Autosport

1 Mins read
British driver Dean Stoneman will race in Indy Lights in 2016 after joining Andretti Autosport.
Formula Renault 3.5Season Review

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series Season Review – Rowland’s Year

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series season, with a good battle for the championship between Oliver Rowland and Matthieu Vaxiviere.

Leave a Reply