Ginetta Junior

Morris Provisional Champion After Controversial Win

2 Mins read

Seb Morris Celebrates As The Sun Sets Over Brands Hatch - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


*Update Below*

Seb Morris has been provisionally crowned as the 2011 Ginetta Junior Champion after taking his twelfth win of the season in Round Seventeen around the Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit, though the result remains provisional until an unresolved judicial matter is sorted on Sunday. 

TJ Motorsport's George Gamble started the race on pole position and a good start saw him lead into Paddock Hill, with team-mate Sennan Fielding working his way into second ahead of Jake Giddings. Morris, who had started fifth, dropped to seventh early on, while there was problems for title contender Charlie Robertson at Graham Hill Bend, when his HHC Motorsport car was pitched into a half spin, dropping the Scot to tenth.

Gamble held the lead until lap four, when Fielding made his way through at Druids. Gamble fought back around the GP loop with the two coming to grief, Gamble retiring while Fielding recovered in last. Benefitting from this to take the lead was Giddings, ahead of Tom Howard and Niall Murray.

Murray was soon up to second, with Howard soon retiring to the pits, and the Beacon Racing driver dived into the lead on lap six at Druids. Giddings fought back though and contact between the two at Graham Hill sent Murray wide, though he regained the lead a lap later, with Morris getting up to second.

On the penultimate lap, Morris could see the championship within his grasp and made a move for the lead at Druids, taking the place. His race wasn't done though, with Murray fighting back at the same corner on the final tour, with controversial contact between the two allowing Morris to retain the lead and come home for the win, with Murray having to settle for second, his third consecutive podium finish.

Behind, a superb run by Max Coates saw him work his way up from eleventh on the grid to snatch third place, with the recovering Robertson fighting back to take fourth. Giddings ended up fifth, ahead of Brad Bailey, Oliver Chadwick and Patrick McClughan. Fielding ended up ninth, with Westbourne Motorsport's Declan Jones and Hillspeed's William Palmer completing the finishes. Howard and Gamble were joined on the retirements list by William Foster and Myles Collins, the duo's races both ending on the opening lap.

*After a stewards enquiry, Seb Morris recieved a three second penalty, giving Niall Murray his maiden Ginetta Junior victory, with Morris finishing second and therefore confirming himself as 2011 champion.

Related posts
BTCCF4 British ChampionshipGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta JuniorMINI ChallengePorsche Carrera Cup GBPorsche Sprint Challenge GB

TOCA announces August start for 2020 BTCC and support categories' season

1 Mins read
TOCA has unveiled a tentative 27-race calendar for the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship and all support categories, set to begin in August
Ginetta Junior

Ginetta Junior Front-Runners Name 2020 Line-Ups

2 Mins read
Leading Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship squads Elite Motorsport and R Racing will run 11 cars between them this season.
FIA WECGinetta G50Ginetta GT4 SupercupGinetta GT5 ChallengeGinetta JuniorGinetta Junior IrelandGinetta Series

Shoot-Out for Ginetta Factory Drive

1 Mins read
Ginetta have announced a new competition for young drivers to win a factory development driver role.

Leave a Reply