Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
MotorcyclesRoad Racing

Six-Time Champion Rutter Heads Macau GP Entry List

2 Mins read
Michael Rutter - Photo Credit: Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati

Michael Rutter - Photo Credit: Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati


Michael Rutter is the stand-out name on the entry list for this year's 45th running of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix. The prestigious event has seen a British winner in each of the last 13 years and the chances of another UK success look high judging by the names already confirmed.

Alongside Rutter, 2002 winner John McGuinness will also be in action and with another TT Championship under his belt, the Morecambe man will be intent on adding to his eight podium finishes at Macau.

After finishing on the podium last year, American rider Jeremy Toye will be back alongside Conor Cummins in the Kawasaki Racing Team while Michael Dunlop completes the three-man squad. Michael, along with brother William, will be desperate to follow in some very special footsteps as he looks to join his late father Robert on the list of Macau masters.

Ian Hutchinson is a welcome name on the list of entrants as the Bingley rider makes his return to racing after more than a year out with a broken leg. 'Hutchy' will compete for Swan Yamaha while Brigg rider Gary Johnson will race under the IGT Suzuki by TAS banner. Martin Jessopp is also confirmed and will partner Michael Rutter, just as he does in the British Superbike Championship.

The major threat to the British contingent is likely to come from Bruce Anstey, the Kiwi rider took victory in the Supersport class at this year's TT and will race a 1000cc Honda for Padgetts Motorcycles. Former podium finisher Mark Miller will also be a threat while the home challenge will come from Sou Sio Hong and Joao Fernandes.

They will all be looking to join the list of legendary figures who have tasted victory in this event. Four-time Superbike World Champion Carl Fogarty has a win to his name while TT and BSB legend Steve Hislop has three of them. Former Grand Prix world champion Kevin Schwantz also took victory in 1988 in a decade dominated by Ron Haslam, a six-time winner in his own right.

One sad omission from the entry list is reigning triple champion Stuart Easton. The Scotsman claimed victory in each of the last three Macau GPs but will not be able to defend his title as he recovers from the serious injuries sustained at the North West 200.


City of Dreams Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – 45th Edition

Provisional Entry List:

No. Rider Nat Machine Team cc
2 Michael Rutter GBR Ducati Team of Paris 1200
3 Michael Dunlop GBR Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 1000
4 John McGuinness GBR Honda Roadhouse SMT Honda 1000
5 Bruce Anstey NZL Honda Padgetts 1000
6 William Dunlop GBR Honda Wilson Craig 1000
7 Ian Hutchinson GBR Yamaha Swan Yamaha 1000
8 Conor Cummins GBR Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 1000
9 James McBride GBR BMW PB Motorsport 1000
10 Mark Miller USA Aprilia Splitlath Motorsport 1000
11 Stephen Thompson GBR Honda Roadhouse T & R Motorsport 1000
12 Horst Saiger AUT BMW 1000
13 Rico Penzkofer GER BMW 1000
15 James Storrar GBR BMW BMW by DMR 1000
17 Steve Mercer GBR Honda Jentin Racing 1000
18 Sou Sio Hong MAC Honda SOU Sio Hong 1000
20 Sean Dwyer USA BMW Locust-Lee's Cycle 1000
22 Chris Clark USA Yamaha Yes-Pcs-Graves Yamaha 1000
23 Michal Dokoupil CZE BMW BMW by DMR 1000
26 Didier Grams GER Suzuki Team 1000
32 Joao Fernandes MAC BMW Team of Paris 1000
34 Michael Barnes USA Kawasaki Attack Performance Kawasaki 1000
37 James Hillier GBR Kawasaki Bournemouth Kawasaki 1000
40 Martin Jessopp GBR Ducati Team of Paris 1200
55 Tiago Magalhaes POR Kawasaki Motodesacelera Kawasaki 1000
57 Jeremy Toye USA Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 1000
69 Gary Johnson GBR Suzuki IGT Suzuki by TAS 1000
77 Nuno Caetano POR Suzuki HM Racing Team 1000
99 Paul Shoesmith GBR BMW PB Motorsport 1000
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears

1 Comment

Leave a Reply