Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
MotorcyclesRoad Racing

Rutter Claims Record Seventh Macau GP Victory

2 Mins read
Michael Rutter - Photo Credit: Pirelli

Michael Rutter - Photo Credit: Pirelli


Michael Rutter now stands alone as the most successful rider in the history of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix after taking his seventh win in the prestigious street race. The 39 year old previously shared the record with Ron Haslam but a battling performance on Sunday ensured his place in history.

The man didn't have it all his own way early on with Ian Hutchinson storming into the lead from third on the grid while Rutter disputed second with John McGuinness and Riders teammate Martin Jessopp.

Rutter eventually broke free and took the lead at Lisboa on lap four before stretching his lead. After his history-making success, Rutter paid tribute to the Pirelli tyres which carried him to victory.

“I'm over the moon to get this seventh win and I've got to say the tyres were absolutely faultless throughout the race with consistent grip and great stability.”

Jessopp managed to get the better of Hutchinson for second and echoed the comments of his teammate, saying that the tyres “were mint from lap one, no slides and they stayed consistent throughout with great handling stability.”

Hutchinson's third place was particularly impressive given his injury turmoil over the last 12 months, finishing just 6.8 seconds off the lead. Jeremy Toye was a lonely fourth while Gary Johnson pipped McGuinness on the line to take fifth.

James Storrar and Steve Mercer were seventh and tenth respectively, giving Britain seven top ten finishers but Manx rider Conor Cummins was forced to sit out the race due to illness.


City of Dreams Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix – 45th Edition

Race Result (10 Laps):

Pos Rider Nat Machine Team Time/Gap
1 Michael Rutter GBR Ducati 24:32.817
2 Martin Jessopp GBR Ducati +4.772
3 Ian Hutchinson GBR Yamaha Swan Yamaha +6.847
4 Jeremy Toye USA Kawasaki IGT Kawasaki Racing Team +9.674
5 Gary Johnson GBR Suzuki IGT Suzuki by TAS +14.113
6 John McGuinness GBR Honda Roadhouse SMT Honda +14.314
7 James Storrar GBR BMW BMW by DMR +32.049
8 Michael Barnes USA Kawasaki Attack Performance Kawasaki +36.894
9 Bruce Anstey NZL Honda +39.384
10 Steve Mercer GBR Honda Jentin Racing +41.713
11 James Hillier GBR Kawasaki Mocha Club Bournemouth Kawasaki +43.343
12 Michael Dunlop GBR Kawasaki IGT Kawasaki Racing Team +52.089
13 William Dunlop GBR Honda Wilson Craig Racing +1:05.051
14 Didier Grams GER Suzuki Heidger-RTG-Suzuki Muller +1:09.043
15 Sean Dwyer USA BMW Locust-Lee's Cycle +1:11.068
16 Stephen Thompson GBR Honda Roadhouse T & R Motorsport +1:13.786
17 Paul Shoesmith GBR BMW PB Motorsport +1:14.164
18 Mark Miller USA Aprilia Splitlath Motorsport +1:20.311
19 James McBride GBR BMW PB Motorsport +1:44.821
20 Michal Dokoupil CZE BMW BMW by DMR +2:04.331
Not Classified
  Chris Clark USA Yamaha Yes-Pcs-Graves Yamaha +2 Laps
  Horst Saiger AUT BMW +9 Laps
Non Starters
  Rico Penzkofer GER BMW
  Conor Cummins GBR Kawasaki IGT Kawasaki Racing Team
Failed To Qualify
  Joao Fernandes MAC BMW Team of Paris
  Nuno Caetano POR Suzuki HM Racing Team
  Sou Sio Hong MAC Honda SOU Sio Hong


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears

Leave a Reply