World Superbike

SBK Silverstone: Camier Denied By Smrz In Superpole

3 Mins read

Jakub Smrz left it until his final lap of the afternoon to take pole position for tomorrow's races at Silverstone, denying Leon Camier and Crescent Fixi Suzuki a dream result on home soil. Thanks to the predictably unpredictable British weather, the Superpole session was run in wet conditions, producing a mixed-up grid.

The first session claimed the scalp of championship leader Max Biaggi but in truth, the Aprilia rider was fortunate to even get this far. Biaggi was sixteenth quickest in the two qualifying sessions and the last man through to Superpole but a shower late in the second session rescued him when Niccolo Canepa was on a lap likely to eliminate him.

Biaggi wasn't on pole position pace at any stage during Superpole and ended up a disappointing eleventh but a number of other big names struggled too. Jonathan Rea's 100% record of making it through to the final session was halted, bringing him back down to earth after his Suzuka 8 Hour victory. He'll start one place ahead of Biaggi in tenth.

The Kawasaki team which have dominated Superpole all year courtesy of Tom Sykes were looking competitive again but this time Loris Baz was the man setting the pace. The French youngster was fastest of all midway through SP1 but he undid all his hard work with a highside at Woodcote, leaving him powerless to prevent others knocking him all the way down to ninth. Rea and Biaggi will start alongside him with John Hopkins, last year's polesitter here, completing the third row.

Maxime Berger was also knocked out in SP1 with the Frenchman down in thirteenth while Eugene Laverty will have to go some to match his double-podium of twelve months ago, starting all the way down in fourteenth. Michel Fabrizio and Chaz Davies round out the fourth row with the luckless Welshman undone by a technical problem on his ParkinGO Aprilia.

More rain fell prior to SP2 and the extra surface water seemed to having an effect as Tom Sykes and Davide Giugliano both had separate high sides at Farm. Carlos Checa led his teammate in an Althea 1-2 in the first session but he wouldn't be starting from the front either after straying onto the slippery kerb exiting Woodcote and dropping his Ducati.

With three likely pole contenders out of the way, Leon Camier set out to seize the opportunity and went fastest two minutes from the end, three tenths ahead of Checa. His time of 2:21.623 remained unbeaten as time expired but Leon Haslam took over by a hundredth of a second on his final lap, making the most of the best track conditions.

Camier was also on a charge and quickly regained provisional pole, taking three quarters of a second off his compatriot's time. BMW's challenge ended as Marco Melandri failed to do better than sixth but a pair of Ducatis were still threatening the Suzuki out front. Sylvain Guintoli, making his return for PATA Racing after his unceremonious sacking by Effenbert Liberty, went third ahead of Haslam but Jakub Smrz ensured his former employers would start from pole with a 2:20.810, three hundredths quicker than Camier.

The three men to crash in SP2 will line up on the second row with Davide Giugliano fifth ahead of Marco Melandri and Carlos Checa with Tom Sykes down in eighth, his lowest grid position of the entire season.


2012 eni Superbike World Championship

Round 10: Silverstone (Superpole Result)

Pos Rider Bike Team Lap Time (Gap)
1  Jakub Smrz Ducati Liberty Racing Team Effenbert 2:20.810 (SP2)
2  Leon Camier Suzuki Crescent Fixi Suzuki 2:20.846 (+0.036)
3  Sylvain Guintoli Ducati PATA Racing 2:21.385 (+0.575)
4  Leon Haslam BMW BMW Motorrad Motorsport 2:21.613 (+0.803)
5  Davide Giugliano Ducati Althea Racing 2:21.951 (+1.141)
6  Marco Melandri BMW BMW Motorrad Motorsport 2:21.960 (+1.150)
7  Carlos Checa Ducati Althea Racing 2:23.356 (+2.546)
8  Tom Sykes Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 2:24.025 (+3.215)
9  Loris Baz Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 2:23.777 (SP1)
10  Jonathan Rea Honda Honda World Superbike Team 2:23.889 (SP1)
11  Max Biaggi Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 2:24.176 (SP1)
12  John Hopkins Suzuki Crescent Fixi Suzuki 2:24.274 (SP1)
13  Maxime Berger Ducati Team Effenbert Liberty Racing 2:24.294 (SP1)
14  Eugene Laverty Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 2:25.260 (SP1)
15  Michel Fabrizio BMW BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet 2:26.137 (SP1)
16  Chaz Davies Aprilia ParkinGO MTC Racing 2:26.360 (SP1)
17  Niccolo Canepa Ducati Red Devils Roma 2:06.795 (QP2)
18  Ayrton Badovini BMW BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet 2:06.803 (QP2)
19  Lorenzo Zanetti Ducati PATA Racing 2:06.869 (QP1)
20  Hiroshi Aoyama Honda Honda World Superbike Team 2:06.921 (QP2)
21  David Salom Kawasaki Team Pedercini 2:08.069 (QP2)
22  David Johnson Kawasaki Team Pedercini 2:09.762 (QP2)
23  Norino Brignola BMW Grillini Progea Superbike Team 2:10.912 (QP2)
24  Brett McCormick Ducati Team Effenbert Liberty Racing 2:13.730 (QP2)


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
World Superbike

Jonathan Rea tops day one in Jerez

2 Mins read
Jonathan Rea tops day one in Jerez.
World Superbike

Rea leads Redding in the first World Superbike test

1 Mins read
Winter testing for the 2020 season of World Superbikes kicked off in Aragon, with Jonathan Rea ending the opening day fastest.
World Superbike

Loris Baz continues with Ten Kate for 2020

1 Mins read
Loris Baz has re-signed with the Ten Kate Racing team for 2020.