2012 Britcar 24 Hours: Hour 15 Update

1 Mins read
2012 Britcar 24 Hours (Photo Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

The 15th hour of the 2012 Britcar 24 Hours at Silverstone was largely uneventful, apart from the seventh Safety Car period happening at the last few minutes of the hour, as yellow flags were being waved near Woodcote.

With 357 laps completed, The #28 MP Motorsport M3 was still leading overall, as well as Class 2, with a 4-lap advantage over the Class 1 leader, the #16 MB Racing Aston Martin, who is three laps ahead of the #17 Neil Garner Motorsport Mosler.

Class 3 leader Perfection Racing found that its #60 Aston Martin would be trundling slowly down the pit lane with what was a left rear puncture, but still kept its lead ahead of the MMC Motorsport #57 E46 CSL, with the #35 Topcats Racing Marcos making its way around the track in 26th place overall.

Intersport Racing had made its way back into the top ten, and with consistent lap times, had made it to the top three once again in Class 3, as their persistence appears to be paying off.

The current Class 4 leader Brunswick Automotive found itself ahead of the Perfection Racing team, as the BMW M3 had managed to make it into the top 5 for the first time in the race. The Seat Leon of still remained in 2nd place in the class, along with the GT86 #86 of Team Toyota holding position in the top 3.

So with the Safety Car leading the field, the cars made their way around the circuit, whilst waiting for green flags to be waved, for racing to continue, as the sunrise appears over the horizon.

2012 Britcar 24 Standings After 15 Hours:

Class One:

1 -MB Racing – West/Wall/Brown/Cripps

2 -Neil Garner Motorsport – White/Cintrano/Morcillo/Sharp

3 – Team LNT – Tomlinson/Kimber-Smith/Dean/Simpson

Class Two:

1 –
MP Motorsport – Poole/Symons/Bardwell/Abra

2 – Optimum Motorsport – Osborne/Mowle/Fletcher/Rattenbury

3 – Topcats Racing – Huggins/Bankhurst/Black/Solivellas

Class Three

1 – Perfection Racing – Spires/Jensen/Johanson/Holmgaard/Klosterman

2- MMC Motorsport – Cox/Borness/Cox/Cox

3 –Intersport Racing – Clarke/Radcliffe/Hayes/Gibson

Class Four

1 – Brunswick Automotive – Griffiths/Green/Kirkpatrick/Forsbrey

2 – – Thijssen/De Heus/Breukers

3 – Team Toyota GB – Hodgetts/Death/Death

363 posts
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritcarFIA WECInterviewsSportscars

The car behind Brabham's return to the race track - BT62

8 Mins read
David Brabham and Will Powell piloted the Brabham BT62 to victory on its on-track debut at Brands Hatch earlier this month, and shed more light to The Checkered Flag on plans to return an iconic name to elite level motorsport.
BritcarInterviewsTouring Cars

Tim Docker - "I'm looking forward to returning to Britcar"

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag had the chance to speak to 2018 Britcar Endurance racer and TCR UK Debutant Tim Docker at the 2019 Autosport International Show about last season and his plans for this year.
BritcarGinetta GT4 Supercup

Supercup Champion Crees To Race BTCC Toyota In Britcar

1 Mins read
Ginetta GT4 Supercup AM Class champion Michael Crees will make his Britcar debut next weekend with Team HARD.