2012 Britcar 24 Hours: Hour 2 Update

by Alex Goldschmidt

Hour two of the 2012 Britcar 24 Hours started with Team LNT leading the way, as Lawrence Tomlinson took over from Mike Simpson behind the wheel of the Ginetta G55, which retook the lead from the Mosler of Neil Garner Motorsport, after its initial first stint being six laps longer than Team LNT.

The Mosler, now guided by Adam Sharpe, was quickly in pursuit, with the lead being initially at 50 seconds. This was after an extended pitstop of three and a half minutes, with the right rear tail light missing and mechanics working away to secure any loose bodywork.

Lawrence Tomlinson would have to pull into the pit lane with twenty minutes of the second hour, as debris was picked up by the left front tyre, coming into Brooklands. The bonnet was removed quickly, and the left front wheel taken off for inspection. The Ginetta lost a further three laps, as it rejoined the race in 6th place, with Neil Garner Motorsport’s #17 Mosler being the only car on the lead lap.

Class Two saw Topcats Racing in the lead, with the MB Aston Martin getting faster as time progressed, with Jamie Wall increasing the pace lap-by –lap, in an effort to catch the Marcos.

Class Three had the Corum Sport Chevron GR8 making its way up the field, now in 6th place, again improving further, with Intersport Racing’s BMW M3 still holding onto second place.

Class 4 leaders Piranha/Fauldsport were leading until their scheduled pit stop took longer than expected. The bolt for the altenator was rattling in the engine bay, with the team deciding not to change it, but only removing the bolt itself. This then meant that the #79 BMW M3 of Brunswick Automotive took the lead. The #76 Synchro Honda Jazz, driven by Martin Byford, then stayed out for a long run, being the last car on the grid to make its first stop of the race, after Brunswick’s BMW made a scheduled stop.


2012 Britcar 24 Standings After 2 Hours:

Class One:

1 – Neil Garner Motorsport – White/Cintrano/Morcillo/Sharp

2– MB Racing – West/Wall/Brown/Cripps

3 – Team LNT – Tomlinson/Kimber-Smith/Dean/Simpson

Class Two:

1 – Topcats Racing – Huggins/Bankhurst/Black/Solivellas

2 – Team Tiger – Beighton/Finnemore/Beighton

3 – Optimum Motorsport – Osborne/Mowle/Fletcher/Rattenbury

Class Three

1   – Corum Sport – Abra/Poole/Bardwell/Symons 2

2   – Intersport – Clarke/Gibson/Hayes/Ratcliffe

3   – Strata 21 – Smith/Coomes/Wheeler/Craven

Class Four:

1 – Synchro – Honda Jazz – Byford/James/Ludlow/Ritchie

2 – Brunswick Automotive – Griffiths/Green/Kirkpatrick/Forsbrey

3 – Piranha/Fauldsport – Mason/Bryant/Ratcliffe/Bialan


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More