2012 Britcar 24 Hours: Hour 5 Update

1 Mins read

Despite an unscheduled pitstop to tend of a sticking throttle the Neil Garner Motorsport Mosler of Paul White, Adam Sharpe, Manuel Cintrano and Javier Morcillo continues to enjoy a three  lap lead at the end of the fifth hour of the 2012 Britcar 24 Hours.

The stop came towards the end of the hour, the rear bodywork coming off the #17 Mosler for a short time after Morcillo pitted from the lead very soon into his second stint of the race having started the race in the car.

Team LNT’s problematic headlights remain a problem, and were the root cause of two over-length pitstops, first of Richard Dean, who pitted of his own volition unable to see enough to keep his pace. A further stop, with Mike Simpson at the wheel, succeeded in illuminating one headlight, with the intention of Simpson driving a full stint before a more permanent solution is found at the next pitstop.

The Ginetta’s problems, coupled to serious cooling issues for the Topcats Racing Marcos helped lift the MP Motorsport BMW M3 into the lead of Class Two and – momentarily – to second overall, though they had dropped back to third for the end of the hour.

Corum Sport continue to lead Class Three in a as so far faultless display. They lead the class by a single lap over the Perfection Racing GT4 Aston.

Brunswick Automotive – now in the top ten overall – lead Class Four ahead of the Red Camel SEAT.

2012 Britcar 24 Hours Standings After 5 Hours

Class One:
1 – Neil Garner Motorsport – White/Cintrano/Morcillo/Sharp
2– Team LNT – Tomlinson/Kimber-Smith/Dean/Simpson
3 – MB Racing – West/Wall/Brown/Cripps

Class Two:
1 – MP Motorsport – Poole/Symons/Bardwell/Abra
2 –
 Topcats Racing – Huggins/Bankhurst/Black/Solivellas
3 – Optimum Motorsport – Osborne/Mowle/Fletcher/Rattenbury

Class Three
1 – Corum Sport – Abra/Poole/Bardwell/Symons
2- Perfection Racing – Spires/Jensen/Johanson/Holmgaard/Klosterman
3 – MMC  Motorsport – Cox/Cox/Cox/Borness

Class Four
1 – Brunswick Automotive – Griffiths/Green/Kirkpatrick/Forsbrey
2 – Red Camel – Thijssen/De Heus/Breukers
3 – Piranha/Fauldsport – Mason/Bryant/Ratcliffe/Bialan

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansBritcarFIA WECInterviewsSportscars

The car behind Brabham's return to the race track - BT62

8 Mins read
David Brabham and Will Powell piloted the Brabham BT62 to victory on its on-track debut at Brands Hatch earlier this month, and shed more light to The Checkered Flag on plans to return an iconic name to elite level motorsport.
BritcarInterviewsTouring Cars

Tim Docker - "I'm looking forward to returning to Britcar"

3 Mins read
The Checkered Flag had the chance to speak to 2018 Britcar Endurance racer and TCR UK Debutant Tim Docker at the 2019 Autosport International Show about last season and his plans for this year.
BritcarGinetta GT4 Supercup

Supercup Champion Crees To Race BTCC Toyota In Britcar

1 Mins read
Ginetta GT4 Supercup AM Class champion Michael Crees will make his Britcar debut next weekend with Team HARD.