Mtech Lite Join Formula 4

Mtech Lite have become the second team to confirm their participation in the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship.

The team will look to run a two-car team in Formula 4 alongside it’s current Formula Renault BARC and GT racing commitments, following Ginetta outfit in HHC Motorsport in joining the new single-seater series.

The Midlands-based squad currently run a four-car team in BARC alongside an impressive GT racing portfolio. In 2011, the team took James Thorp to third in the championship, while this season they’re best result so far has been sixth with Jorge Cevallos.

“With the backing of both the BRDC and MSV the BRDC Formula 4 Championship promises to be something very special,” said Team Manager Les Jones. “We’ll be racing on some of the best circuits and supporting some top meetings too and I’m very pleased that MTECH Lite are to be a part of it all from the very start.”

“I’m delighted that MTECH Lite will be joining the BRDC Formula 4 Championship with two cars,” added MSV Chief Executive Jonathan Palmer. “They are a very professional team with a great deal of experience and clearly recognise that F4 is now the compelling option for young drivers at this level. I expect them to be front runners in what will be an intensely competitive 2013 season.”