BRDC Formula 4

Robertson And HHC Announce Single-Seater Switch With Formula 4

1 Mins read

Ginetta Junior front-runner Charlie Robertson has become the first driver to sign up for the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship for 2013.

15 year old Robertson will be making his first foray into single-seater racing, having competed for the last two seasons in the Ginetta Junior Championship. The young Scot took three wins en-route to finishing runner-up in the series in 2011, while he currently leads the 2012 standings with six races remaining, with six wins and three other podiums to his name.

“BRDC F4 is the perfect next step for me after two seasons in Ginetta Juniors,” enthused Robertson. “With 175bhp, adjustable wings and paddle-shift gears, the F4-013 looks fantastic. The championship looks great too – with relatively low costs, three races each weekend and reverse grids to spice things up. I can’t wait!”

Robertson will continue to race with HHC Motorsport, who have confirmed a two-car assault on the series in it’s first assault on single-seater racing.

“We are very excited about running Charlie again next year and in the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship,” said HHC Motorsport’s Charlie Kemp. “We’ve been attracted to it because it is the most sensible step for drivers looking to move into single-seaters after junior racing and because the car is affordable, well-constructed and affordable to run. Add in the promotional push that MotorSport Vision will give to the championship and we feel that this will be a huge success. It is where we want to be as a team for 2013 and beyond and can’t wait to get our hands on the new car.” 

“I’m really pleased I’ll be racing with HHC next year, I’ve built up a fantastic relationship with Charlie [Kemp] and Jody [Hemmings] at the team and I can’t fault anything they’ve done over the last two years in Ginetta Junior,” added Robertson. “They’ve consistently given me a great car and really helped bring me on as a driver. It really is going to be fantastic taking on this new challenge together.”

An Artists Impresson Of Robertson’s F4 Car

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.