Espargaro Dominates In Australia As Marquez Takes Moto2 Title

2 Mins read

Pol Espargaro won the Australian Grand Prix by the biggest margin in Moto2 history but he was upstaged by Marc Marquez once again as the 19 year old clinched the title with a race to spare. Espargaro was almost seventeen seconds ahead of Anthony West, giving the home supporters their second podium finish of the day, while Marquez edged out Scott Redding for the final podium position.

Marquez looked intent on securing the championship with a victory after overtaking lap one leader Takaaki Nakagami but Espargaro motored past his fellow Spaniard at the start of lap three and that was the last anyone saw of him. Marquez would also lose second to Scott Redding on lap six as the Briton dived past him at Stoner corner but the championship leader looked safe in third, knowing that was more than enough to take the title.

Marc’s approach was set to change in the closing stages though as Anthony West stormed up behind him on the QMMF Speed Up machine. The Australian had escaped a seven rider group fighting for fourth and joined in on the podium battle with seven laps remaining. Three laps from home, West burst into action at turn one, scything up the inside of an understandably cautious Marquez, but Redding was in no mood to relinquish second quite as easily.

Urged on by the passionate home crowd, West moved into second with another outstanding move, this time at the Honda hairpin and with Redding coming under immediate pressure from Marquez, second place was in the bag. Nothing was more secure than Espargaro’s lead though with the Pons rider 16.811s up the road for his fourth win of the season. It was all in vain as far as the championship was concerned though as Marquez took third having snatched the place from Redding at the last corner. With a 39 point lead heading into the season finale at Valencia, Marquez had been crowned champion at the second time of asking.

Dominique Aegerter finished at the front of the pack squabbling for fifth, pipping Johann Zarco by a hundredth of a second, with Simone Corsi, Esteve Rabat, Randy Krummenacher and Takaaki Nakagami all within half a second of Aegerter at the finish.

Mika Kallio should have been a part of the scrap on the last lap but the Finn was taken out at the Honda hairpin when Corsi and Nakagami came to blows. Andrea Iannone and Thomas Luthi also came to grief in seperate incidents, ensuring their fight for third in the championship will go down to the wire.

Bradley Smith did everything he could to drag the Tech 3 Mistral 610 up the order with twelfth the final result while Gino Rea failed to build on his Sepang podium, finishing 21st.

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.