BRDC Formula 4

Motionsport And Comtec Become Latest F4 Additions

1 Mins read

Motionsport and Comtec Racing have become the latest teams to confirm their participation in the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship for 2013.

Oxfordshire-based Motionsport will be running two cars next year under their new division ‘Formula Motionsport’. The existing team has been a front-running team in GT and Endurance racing since forming in 2010 and have drafted in ex-single seater and BTCC driver Gary Ayles to front the new division.

“We are pleased to be able to bring someone with Gary’s experience and knowledge to the team,” Team Principal Simon Phillips. “Since the BRDC F4 championship was announced a few weeks ago it was an obvious fit to both our ambitions and Gary has the skills and ability to really bring exciting new talent to the front of the British motorsport scene. It should be good fun!”

It’s great to be joining Motionsport and working with Simon on moving the team forwards along the single seater route,” added Gary Ayles. “We have all the resources available to us to have a front running team in Formula 4 and onwards. I look forward to using my experience to help our drivers to be right at the front.”

Leading Formula Renault 3.5 team Comtec Racing meanwhile will be running three cars next season. The Norfolk-based outfit, originally founded as the works Van Diemen Formula Ford team, has enjoyed great success in the Renault 3.5 series since joining in 2006, including winning the title in their first season.

“We’re really looking forward to the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship as it will allow young drivers to develop the skills required to compete at higher levels,” said Comtec’s Roly Vincini.

The news comes as current Ginetta outfit HHC Motorsport announce they will run a second car in 2013 to partner current Ginetta Junior championship leader Charlie Robertson, meaning there are now 22 cars already sold for the new season.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.