Robertson ‘Excited’ Ahead Of F4 Switch

by Simon Paice

Charlie Robertson has expressed his excitement at joining the new BRDC Formula 4 Championship next season.

The 15 year old, who is currently leading the Ginetta Junior Championship, will be competing in single-seater racing for the first time in 2013, joining the Formula 4 series with his current Ginetta outfit HHC Motorsport.

“I’m very excited,” Robertson told “It should be a really good championship, there’s already eight cars sold. I’m really looking forward to it, getting my head around a single-seater car is going to be complicated but enjoyable I think.”

Robertson assessed many different options for 2013, both down the single-seater route, with Formula Ford and Formula Renault BARC, and staying in Ginetta, in either a G55 or G50 in the GT Supercup, but when Formula 4 came up, he admits he instantly jumped at the opportunity.

“It was to do with the expense really,” he explained. “Most single-seater championships are really expensive, but this one seemed to have a really good budget and we thought I’d be a good route to go. We looked into other single-seater categories but deemed they were out of our price range, and we looked at Ginetta too and they were an option. But when F4 came along, as soon as we saw it we decided that’s what I’m doing next year.

Despite the fact Formula 4 is joining an already busy single-seater market in the UK, coming up against established series Formula Renault BARC, Formula Ford and Intersteps, Robertson believes the series will be very popular.

“I definitely think it’s filling a gap, with the price it goes right in with everyone’s budget and I think it’ll get big grids next year,” he concluded.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More