BRDC Formula 4

Hughes Steps Up To BRDC F4 With Lanan Racing

1 Mins read

Karting star Jake Hughes has announced his full time graduation into car racing in 2013 after confirming his participation in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship with Lanan Racing

Hughes has some minimal car racing experience under his belt, having completed a Formula Renault 2.0 test with Manor Competition in the past, before joining the Formula Renault BARC Winter Series grid earlier this month at Rockingham.

“I’m really looking forward to racing next year as the F4 series looks set to be a great championship with the kudos of the BRDC and Jonathan Palmer’s MSV Group behind it,” said the 2012 Easykart E Plate karting champion. “Being my first full season in cars I know it’s going to be a challenge but I’m in it to win and I’m keen to get started with Lanan Racing who have really impressed me.”

Lanan Racing Team Principal Graham Johnson added: “We’re pleased to welcome Jake to the squad and know he’s going to make a big impression next year. Jake is the first of two signings, the second of which we’ll be confirming shortly, while we’ve also enlisted Joey Foster and McLaren BRDC Autosport Award finalist Alex Lynn to act as our development drivers for 2013.”

The news of Hughes becoming the fifth driver to sign up for the 2013 series comes as championship organisers MotorSport Vision (MSV) confirm the new MSV F4-014 chassis for the series has successfully passed the FIA’s strength and impact test programme at the first attempt.

The new car will be officially unveiled on the MSV stand at the Autosport International Show in January.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.