Espargaro Takes Over From Terol On Day Two

2 Mins read

Pol Espargaro upped the pace on the second day of the pre-season Moto2 test at Valencia to depose Nicolas Terol from the top of the timesheet. The title favourite found half a second from the previous day to finish two tenths ahead of Terol on the 2013 Aspar Suter.

Espargaro’s flying lap came in the final session of the day but the Spaniard was dominant, finishing as the fastest man in all three sessions while Terol’s quickest time came in the morning. The Aspar rider was testing out the new Suter chassis for the first time after the running the old bike yesterday and will have been encouraged by the early signs.

Thomas Luthi was third quickest today, also on board a Suter, while Julian Simon and Esteve Rabat ensured three Kalex machines would be represented in the top six. Honours would be even among the top two constructors though as Johann Zarco took sixth overall for Ioda Racing, bouncing back from a crash on day one.

Scott Redding could only improve by a couple of tenths on his Tuesday best, dropping to eighth behind Takaaki Nakagami and his compatriots didn’t enjoy smooth days either. Danny Kent and Kyle Smith both suffered accidents as they got to grips with their new machinery although to his credit, Kent recovered to finish 23rd overall, earning him the status of top rookie, half a second ahead of Moto3 champion Sandro Cortese who also fell today.


Moto2 Valencia Test: Combined Classification – Wednesday 13th February
Pos Rider Nat Team Time
1 40. Pol Espargaro   Tuenti HP 40 1:35.520
2 18. Nicolas Terol Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:35.733
3 12. Thomas Luthi Interwetten Paddock 1:35.947
4 60. Julian Simon Italtrans Racing Team 1:35.993
5 80. Esteve Rabat Tuenti HP 40 1:36.023
6 5. Johann Zarco Came IodaRacing Project 1:36.028
7 30. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Racing Team 1:36.051
8 45. Scott Redding Marc VDS Racing Team 1:36.102
9 3. Simone Corsi NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.192
10 81. Jordi Torres Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:36.290
11 36. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Racing Team 1:36.514
12 77. Dominique Aegerter Technomag carXpert 1:36.839
13 95. Anthony West QMMF Racing Team 1:36.868
14 15. Alex De Angelis NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:36.870
15 24. Toni Elias Blusens Avintia 1:36.883
16 19. Xavier Simeon Maptaq SAG Zelos Team 1:37.086
17 49. Axel Pons Tuenti HP 40 1:37.189
18 54. Mattia Pasini NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:37.396
19 14. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda Gresini Moto2 1:37.596
20 88. Ricard Cardus NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:37.725
21 72. Yuki Takahashi Honda Racing Asia Tady 1:37.728
22 63. Mike Di Meglio JIR Moto2 1:37.758
23 52. Danny Kent Tech 3 Racing 1:38.011
24 4. Randy Krummenacher Technomag carXpert 1:38.434
25 44. Steven Odendaal Arguiñano & Gines Racing 1:38.540
26 11. Sandro Cortese Dynavolt Intact GP 1:38.545
27 96. Louis Rossi Tech 3 Racing 1:38.806
28 7. Doni Tata Pradita Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1:38.932
29 9. Kyle Smith Blusens Avintia 1:38.971
30 17. Alberto Moncayo Arguiñano & Gines Racing 1:40.190
31 97. Rafid Topan Sucipto QMMF Racing Team 1:42.659


5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.