Miller Makes The Most Of Wet Conditions At Jerez

2 Mins read

Jack Miller’s wet weather expertise proved to be the difference as the Australian topped the timesheets on the final day of testing this week at Jerez. The Caretta Technology-RTG rider has a history of eye-catching performances in the rain, including his career-best fourth at the Sachsenring, and did so again to outpace Alex Rins on Estrella Galicia’s KTM.

With the weather turning nasty again, Wednesday proved to be the only day of dry running with Maverick Vinales remaining the fastest rider of the week. The championship favourite didn’t turn a wheel today due to the conditions but second fastest rider Alex Rins felt comfortable enough to complete 23 laps, coming within 0.141s of Miller’s benchmark in the wet.

Although few, if any, conclusions can be drawn from such a day, KTM’s dominance was certainly nowhere near as obvious as it had been in the dry. Jakub Kornfeil KTM-powered Kalex was third but Romano Fenati put a second FTR-Honda in the top four on his Team Italia bike. The Mahindra of Miguel Oliveira followed in fifth with KTM riders Alex Marquez and Zulfahmi Khairuddin sandwiching seventh-placed John McPhee on the second Caretta FTR-Honda.

After losing an engine yesterday, Arthur Sissis was back out on track and able to take ninth with Belgian rookie Livio Loi ending an eventful week on a high with tenth place.


Moto3 Jerez Test: Combined Classification – Thursday 21st  February
Pos Rider Nat Team Best Time  
1 8. Jack Miller Caretta Technology-RTG 1:58.354  
2 42. Alex Rins Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:58.495
3 84. Jakub Kornfeil Redox RW Racing GP 1:58.644  
4 5. Romano Fenati San Carlo Team Italia 1:59.044 Report
5 44. Miguel Oliveira Mahindra Racing 1:59.100
6 12. Alex Marquez Estrella Galicia 0’0 1:59.193
7 17. John McPhee Caretta Technology-RTG 1:59.282
8 63. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:59.389
9 61. Arthur Sissis Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:59.464
10 11. Livio Loi Marc VDS Racing Team 1:59.469
11 53. Jasper Iwema RW Racing GP 1:59.470
12 29. Hyuga Watanabe Team La Fonte Tascaracing 1:59.504
13 7. Efren Vazquez Mahindra Racing 1:59.689
14 3. Matteo Ferrari Ongetta-Centro Seta 2:00.072
15 66. Florian Alt Kiefer Racing 2:00.610
16 77. Lorenzo Baldassarri Team Go & Fun Honda Gresini 2:00.855
17 65. Philipp Oettl Paddock TT Motion Events 2:00.861
18 4. Francesco Bagnaia San Carlo Team Italia 2:01.709 Report
19 58. Juanfran Guevara CIP 2:04.888
20 19. Alessandro Tonucci Team La Fonte Tascaracing 2:05.625
21 9. Toni Finsterbusch Kiefer Racing No Time
22 10. Alexis Masbou Ongetta-Rivacold No Time
23 22. Ana Carrasco JHK t-shirt Laglisse No Time
24 23. Niccolo Antonelli Team Go & Fun Honda Gresini No Time
25 25. Maverick Vinales JHK t-shirt Laglisse No Time
26 31. Niklas Ajo Avant Tecno No Time
27 32. Isaac Vinales Bimbo-Ongetta-Centro Seta No Time
28 39. Luis Salom Red Bull KTM Ajo No Time
29 41. Brad Binder Ambrogio Racing No Time
30 57. Eric Granado Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 No Time
31 89. Alan Techer CIP No Time
32 94. Jonas Folger Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 No Time
33 99. Danny Webb Ambrogio Racing No Time  


Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship

Leave a Reply