Terol Back On Top As Rain Returns At Jerez

by Louis Suddaby

Nicolas Terol proved to be the man to beat in wet conditions once again as the Jerez pre-season test came to a rather low-key conclusion. The second test of the year has been blighted throughout by unsettled weather with Wednesday the only day to see full-dry running, although Terol will be pleased to have continued the good form from Valencia last week.

The circuit briefly began to dry out this afternoon, only to be followed by another shower, leaving the morning times as the quickest of the day. Terol’s 1:54.860 was the best of his 26 laps and the only under 1m55, giving him a three tenth lead over a pair of British riders. Scott Redding was predictably the quickest in second followed closely by Danny Kent who, regardless of the weather, will have been delighted with third ahead of some famed wet-weather specialists.

Johann Zarco would count himself among that group of riders and the Frenchman ended the day in fourth with Ricard Cardus fifth ahead of another man known for his pace in the rain, Xavier Simeon. Takaaki Nakagami was seventh and due to his pace on Wednesday, finished the week as the second quickest rider overall, while Dominique Aegerter. Jordi Torres and Anthony West rounded out Thursday’s top ten.

Kyle Smith was eleventh, another rider to impress in the wet, but title favourite Pol Espargaro sat the day out completely due to the rain. His dominance on Wednesday was enough to earn him the best lap time of the week though.


Moto2 Jerez Test: Combined Classification – Thursday 21st February
Pos Rider Nat Team Best Time  
1 18. Nicolas Terol Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:54.860  
2 45. Scott Redding Marc VDS Racing Team 1:55.145
3 52. Danny Kent Tech 3 Racing 1:55.167
4 5. Johann Zarco Came IodaRacing Project 1:55.287
5 88. Ricard Cardus NGM Mobile Forward Racing 1:55.326 Report
6 19. Xavier Simeon Maptaq SAG Zelos Team 1:55.475
7 30. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Racing Team 1:55.955
8 77. Dominique Aegerter Technomag carXpert 1:55.995
9 81. Jordi Torres Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:56.092
10 95. Anthony West QMMF Racing Team 1:56.286
11 9. Kyle Smith Blusens Avintia 1:56.361
12 24. Toni Elias Blusens Avintia 1:56.391
13 63. Mike Di Meglio JIR Moto2 1:56.413
14 36. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Racing Team 1:56.564
15 23. Marcel Schrotter Desguaces La Torre SAG Team 1:56.884
16 44. Steven Odendaal Arguiñano & Gines Racing 1:57.122
17 4. Randy Krummenacher Technomag carXpert 1:57.380
18 72. Yuki Takahashi Idemitsu Honda Team Asia 1:57.683
19 96. Louis Rossi Tech 3 Racing 1:58.570
20 97. Rafid Topan Sucipto QMMF Racing Team 2:01.883
21 3. Simone Corsi NGM Mobile Forward Racing No Time Report
22 7. Doni Tata Pradita Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 No Time Report
23 11. Sandro Cortese Dynavolt Intact GP No Time
24 14. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda Gresini Moto2 No Time Report
25 15. Alex De Angelis NGM Mobile Forward Racing No Time Report
26 17. Alberto Moncayo Arguiñano & Gines Racing No Time
27 40. Pol Espargaro Tuenti HP 40 No Time
28 49. Axel Pons Tuenti HP 40 No Time
29 54. Mattia Pasini NGM Mobile Forward Racing No Time Report
30 60. Julian Simon Italtrans Racing Team No Time
31 80. Esteve Rabat Tuenti HP 40 No Time


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More