Formula FordGinetta Junior

Ginetta Star Murray Makes Single-Seater Switch

1 Mins read

2012 Ginetta Junior Championship front-runner Niall Murray has made the move into single-seater racing for 2013, joining the re-energised Irish Formula Ford 1600 Championship.

Murray joins his Ginetta rivals Charlie Robertson and Sennan Fielding in graduating from the Junior series into open-wheel racing this season, but while they will both compete in BRDC Formula 4 this year, Murray will remain in his homeland.

Returning to his family-run team Murray Motorsport in a ’99 Van Diemen, the former Ginetta Junior Ireland champion is hoping that Formula Ford will provide him with a new platform to shine.

“I’m so excited to announce I’ll be racing in Irish Formula Ford,” said Murray. “It will be very competitive with current and past Irish Young Racing drivers of the Year competing and also current and past winners of the Formula Ford festival.

“I’ve never driven a single seater before, but I’m confident that I’ll be able to adapt to the new tracks straight away and be right on the pace quickly. I’m going to be run by my family team Murray Motorsport, which I’m very happy about as I know they are the best team I could possibly have!”

Niall starts his 2013 Irish Formula Ford 1600 campaign in Kirkistown on Saturday 6th April.

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
BTCCF4 British ChampionshipGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta JuniorMINI ChallengePorsche Carrera Cup GBPorsche Sprint Challenge GB

TOCA announces August start for 2020 BTCC and support categories' season

1 Mins read
TOCA has unveiled a tentative 27-race calendar for the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship and all support categories, set to begin in August
Ginetta Junior

Ginetta Junior Front-Runners Name 2020 Line-Ups

2 Mins read
Leading Michelin Ginetta Junior Championship squads Elite Motorsport and R Racing will run 11 cars between them this season.

Leave a Reply