BRDC Formula 4

More International Additions To BRDC Formula 4

1 Mins read

Three more international drivers have signed up for the debut 2013 BRDC Formula 4 season.

South African Raoul Hyman, Poland’s Malgosia Rdest and Mexican driver Diego Menchaca join American Falco Wauer as four overseas drivers competing in the new series.

Menchaca, part of the Escuderia Telmex young driver programme which features Formula 1 drivers Sergio Perez and Esteban Gutierrez, already has British single-seater experience having finished 11th overall last season in Formula Renault BARC.

The 18-year-old, who will race alongside Briton Jake Dalton for MGR, said: “Mark and the team have really impressed me and I am confident they are going to provide me with a good car.

“British single seater racing is very competitive and there are a lot of very talented drivers but I’m very much looking forward to the challenge ahead and doing the best I can.”

Meanwhile 20-year-old Rdest, the only female driver confirmed for the series, took part in 2012 the Formula BMW Talent Cup after starting karting in her native Poland.

She finished 10th, joining the Douglas Motorsport driver development programme in the process, and is excited to race the new car.

“Formula 4 is a really huge challenge for me. Everything is brand new – the series, car and the team. I’m thrilled to join Douglas Motorsport…all the team members are really enthusiastic about racing, just as I am. I am really looking forward to the 2013 season and can’t wait for the first race!”

At 16, and stepping up from karts, Hyman is one of the least experienced drivers on the grid. But his manager, Dan Holland, believes he will get to grips quickly.

“Raoul is a very special talent and is both fast and exciting to watch,” he said. “Having managed him over the past two years I have no doubt that he will adapt to the main circuit, and slicks and wings quickly. I expect him to be quick out the blocks.”

“Just looking at the F4 car gets me excited – the pictures don’t do it justice,” Hyman added. “I had a brief opportunity to shake the car down and I was really impressed.”

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply