Dalton Wins Thrilling Final Silverstone Race

Jake Dalton made it three different winners in the first three BRDC Formula 4 Championship races with victory in a thrilling Round Three at Silverstone.

Matthew Graham started the final race of the weekend from pole position, however despite a good getaway, the poleman was swamped into the first corner, with the fast-starting Dalton and Seb Morris storming into first and second respectively.

Dalton led by almost two seconds after the first lap and after having saved his allocation of fresh tyres for the final race, his lead was rarely under threat as he controlled the remainder of the race for a dominant lights to flag win.

“After the first race and that contact (with Hughes) I was a bit disappointed but had to refocus on all the races,” said Dalton. “The second race we knew we were compromised a little as we were going on the old tyres but certainly with putting the new ones on for the third race we managed to bridge the gap at the start and get off the line well. From there I focussed and made sure I ran all the processes correctly. I could see that Seb was keeping the gap so I had it all under control from there really.” 

This left Morris with a lonely run to second, his third podium of the weekend ensuring he leaves the opening weekend as championship leader, with the races main action taking place behind in the battle for third.

Graham found himself in a fantastic race-long battle for the final podium position, with Jack Barlow, Charlie Robertson and Matt Bell all hot on his heels around the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

Barlow took third from his Sean Walkinshaw Racing team-mate heading into the Arena section on lap two, however Graham fought his way back past moments later. Behind, Bell made a move on Robertson into Copse at the start of lap four and whilst it proved unsuccessful, they both gained a place soon after as Barlow fell back.

Graham held on to take his first podium in third, with Robertson fourth. Barlow forced his way back past Bell at Becketts on lap eight, however on the penultimate lap, Bell found his way through again to finish fifth, with Barlow forced to settle for sixth after a fantastic battle.

Sennan Fielding claimed seventh place for Douglas Motorsport ahead of Ross Gunn, while taking a superb ninth from the back of the grid was Diego Menchaca. Brazilian Gustavo Lima rounded out the top ten for HHC Motorsport.

2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Round three result:

1. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, 10 laps
2. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +3.176s
3. Matthew Graham, SWR Racing, +9.923s
4. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +11.488s
5. Matt Bell, MattRBellRacing, +14.761s
6. Jack Barlow, SWR Racing, +15.586s
7. Sennan Fielding, Douglas Motorsport, +27.529s
8. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, +30.532s
9. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +33.225s
10. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +52.407s