Burns Continues Hot Streak With Second Rockingham Win

Burns Rock race 2 2013

Will Burns made it two out of two with victory in the second Protyre Ginetta GT5 Challenge race at Rockingham, over 10 seconds ahead of team-mate Oli Basey-Fisher.

Burns didn’t make the best of starts from pole position, running three-abreast through the banking for the first time with Brad Bailey and the quick-starting David Pittard, Burns holding the inside line to lead as Bailey was squeezed out wide at Deene hairpin.

Bailey lost further ground when he was forced out wide into Yentwood and down to fifth place, Basey-Fisher taking third place ahead of Luke Davenport and Clive Richards, Callum Pointon also slipping through into sixth place.

Pointon’s sixth place was short-lived however as he and Alex Drabble both dropped back at Deene, Pointon’s car facing the wrong way as Bailey slipped another place behind Thiago Calvet.

Burns began to pull away from the battle for second between Pittard and Basey-Fisher, which went to the latter after Pittard locked up heading into Deene, dropping down to fifth place.

Cruising to his second victory of the season was Burns, over 10 seconds clear of Academy Motorsport team-mate Basey-Fisher who just held onto second ahead of Davenport despite a five-second penalty for exceeding track limits. Richards kept Davenport honest for the final half of the race, but a slight mistake at Deene hairpin cost his as he settled for fourth.

Bailey made a move on Pittard at Deene to take fifth, Pittard repeating his lock-up and dropping to seventh behind Matt Flowers, Tor McIlroy finishing eighth ahead of Pointon and Neil Delargy rounding out the top 10.

The G20 class was a race of thrills and spills, Gary Simms looking certain to repeat his win in race one before his Reflex Racing machine expired spectacularly from the class lead on lap four.

That left Stuart Pearson and Nick Zapolski dicing over the class lead, running side-by-side for much of the third lap, Pearson squeezing by at Yentwood on lap four before pulling away for the class win, Brian Murphy moving up to second in class while Zapolski hung on ahead of Mark De Spong.