Robertson Dominates Final Race For Maiden F4 Win

Charlie Robertson became the fourth different winner in the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship after he cruised to a dominant win in the final race of the weekend at Brands Hatch.

Robertson made a great start from pole position to lead into Paddock Hill Bend, with his HHC Motorsport team-mate Raoul Hyman slotting into second.

The South African was unable to keep up with his team-mate though, with Robertson pulling away at the front and controlling the race, eventually taking the victory by over ten seconds. The win moves the reigning Ginetta Junior champion up to second in the championship standings.

“It’s been a fantastic weekend and I didn’t think a win would be on the cards after Silverstone,” said Robertson. “I’m just very pleased, and I think it was a fantastic race.”

Hyman meanwhile held second until lap five, when a mistake at Paddock Hill Bend saw him run wide, giving the place to Jake Dalton. The MGR star ran there for the remainder of the race to take his fourth podium finish of the season, in the process extending his championship lead up to sixteen points points.

Hyman was left to defend from a determined Matthew Graham, the latter mounting a couple of strong moves at Druids over the second half of the race, with Hyman just keeping his nose in front to take his maiden podium finish.

Graham led Team KBS team-mates James Fletcher and Falco Wauer across the line, while Matt Bell consolidated third in the championship with seventh after a strong drive from 12th on the grid. Gustavo Lima, Diego Menchaca and Jack Barlow rounded out the top ten.

2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Round six result:

1, Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, 25 laps
2. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +10.386s
3. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +13.026s
4. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +13.084s
5. James Fletcher, Team KBS, +13.273s
6. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, +17.273s
7. Matt Bell, MattRBell Racing Team E-Lites, +17.355s
8. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +21.480s
9. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +22.032s
10. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +22.386s