24 Hours of Le Mans

2013 24 Hours Of Le Mans: Hour 11 Update

2 Mins read

As the 2013 24 Hours of Le Mans enters in to its 12th Hour the only change at the front since the last hour is the drivers of the top 3 cars, Allan McNish now leads the race in the #2 Audi with Anthony Davidson and Nicolas Lapierre holding position in the two Toyota’s.

The biggest story from LMP1 is the #1 Audi driven by Marcel Fassler through most of this hour, following earlier issues the team have been playing catch-up and Fassler has been leading the charge, weaving his way through GT and LMP2 cars, as the hour closed out Lotterer was back in the driving seat and running in 12th place overall. With Strakka Racing in 7th place and four laps ahead, any further progress in in the LMP1 class will be tough.

In the LMP2 class OAK Racing lead the way with Pla bringing an impressive quadruple stint as he eroded the class lead of team-mate Gonzalez. As the end of the hour closed in Alex Brundle was setting the pace for LMP2, closing in on the sister #35 car.

In GTE Pro the #99 Aston Martin continues to set the pace while team-mate Darren Turner pushed hard to regain second in class from the #92 Porsche, unfortunately for the Aston Martin driver it would only be a brief second while the Porsche came in to the pits. There are potential problems for Turner, his LED door square has stopped working which could mean lost time should the team have to repair it.

The big story in the GTE Am class during this hour was the accident involving Patrick Dempsey after he was collected by an LMP2 car as they went in to the first corner. Dempsey would get going again but later reported the car was pulling to the left. The #76 IMSA Performance Porsche leads the class on the hour followed by two AF Corse Ferrari’s. Larbre Racing would see problems when their #70 car as it expired in a cloud of steam/smoke in the garage. The Krohn Ferrari finished the race early as it expired on circuit.

2013 24 Hours of Le Mans class standings after 10 hours


1 – #2 Audi Sport Team Joest – Kristensen/Duval/McNish
2 – #8 Toyota Racing – Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin
3 – #7 Toyota Racing – Wurz/Lapierre/Nakajima


1 – #35 OAK Racing – Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman
2 – #24 OAK Racing – Brundle/Heinemeier Hansson/Pla
3 – #38 Jota Sport – Dolan/Turvey/Luhr


1 – #99 Aston Martin Racing – Bell/Makowiecki/Senna
2 – #92 Porsche AG Team Manthey – Lieb/Lietz/Dumas
3 – #97 Aston Martin Racing – Dumbreck/Mucke/Turner


1 – #76 IMSA Performance Matmut – Narac/Bourret/Vernay
2 – #55 AF Corse – Perazzini/Case/O’Young
3 – #61 AF Corse – Gerber/Griffin/Cioci

2870 posts

About author
Founder and Editor-In-Chief of The Checkered Flag who grew up visiting race circuits around the UK also a freelance motorsport PR officer. Outside of motorsport a lover of music, photography, NBA and NFL.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Glickenhaus Reveals WEC LMH Driver Line Up

2 Mins read
Ahead of their FIA World Endurance Championship debut, Scuderia Glickenhaus have announced their seven-strong roster of drivers for the 2021 season.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

ByKolles Names Test and Development Drivers for Hypercar Project

2 Mins read
Tom Dillmann and Esteban Guerrieri have been announced as ByKolles Racing’s test and development drivers for their Le Mans Hypercar project.
24 Hours of Le MansAsian Le Mans SeriesEuropean Le Mans SeriesFIA WEC

LMP2 Suffers More Performance Cuts to Keep Hypercars Ahead

1 Mins read
More changes have been made to the LMP2 cars to ensure the Hypercars are faster ahead of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Leave a Reply