Hughes Inherits Race Three Win After HHC Exclusion

Jake Hughes was handed his first victory in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship in the final race at Snetterton after original one-two finishers Charlie Robertson and Raoul Hyman were excluded from the results.

Robertson had started the race from pole position, courtesy of setting the fastest race lap of the weekend so far, and a decent start saw him lead in Riches for the first time, with Hyman slotting into second behind him.

Robertson would go on to control the race, increasing his lead to over three seconds as he took the chequered flag for what he thought was his second victory of the season and the HHC Motorsport team’s first one-two, with Hyman having held second throughout.

Both drivers were later excluded from the results though for a technical infringement concerning the attachment method of the rear gurney, part of the rear wing assembly.

This gave Hughes the victory, his first in the series, after the Lanan Racing ace took third on lap five from James Fletcher, who went on to take second in the amended results. Jake Dalton was promoted to the final podium position in third, the MGR racer having just fended off former Formula Renault rival Seb Morris in the latter stages.

Gustavo Lima salvaged some points for HHC Motorsport in fifth ahead of Falco Wauer, while producing a strong drive to eventual finish seventh from 14th on the grid was Jack Barlow. Round eight winner Struan Moore took eighth ahead of MGR pairing Pietro Fittipaldi and Diego Menchaca.

2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Round nine result:

1. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, 10 laps
2. James Fletcher, Team KBS, +2.704s
3. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +3.353s
4. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +3.996s
5. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +4.585s
6. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, +10.251s
7. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +13.344s
8. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +14.206s
9. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +14.328s
10. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +16.566s