Moore Joins Winners Circle With Snetterton Victory

Struan Moore and Hillspeed have become the latest driver/team pairing to secure their first win in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship with victory in race two at Snetterton.

The original race was red flagged after an incident on lap one involving Matt Bell and Sennan Fielding, who started second and third respectively, and Matthew Graham, who was also caught up.

The restarted eight lap race saw Moore convert his pole position into a 0.4 second lead at the end of lap one, with Falco Wauer second from Raoul Hyman. By the end of the second lap, Wauer had trimmed Moore’s lead slightly, however it was Hyman who made the first move, passing Wauer into Riches at the start of lap four.

That would be the only move of the race between the front three, with Moore edging clear to take his first win by 2.3s from HHC Motorsport’s Hyman, while Wauer continued a strong weekend for Team KBS in third.

“It’s a mega result and it was a great performance from Hillspeed,” said Moore. “We had a little bit of luck but we’ve had our share of bad luck this year as well so it’s good that this has come our way. Hopefully we can build on this now and get a good result in race three.”

Behind them, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson were resuming their duel from race one, however this time Morris successfully kept Robertson behind to take fourth. Jake Hughes briefly got ahead of Robertson at one point, however the HHC Motorsport driver got back past to finish fifth, with Hughes left to settle for sixth, the trio separated by only 0.5s at the end of the race.

Race one winner James Fletcher took seventh ahead of Ross Gunn, while gaining ten places from his grid position to finish ninth was Gustavo Lima. Jack Barlow rounded out the top ten for Sean Walkinshaw Racing, while after their race one exclusions, Diego Menchaca and Pietro Fittipaldi battled through from the back of the grid to 11th and 13th respectively.

2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Round eight result:

1. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, 8 laps
2. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +2.305s
3. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, +5.030s
4. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +6.233s
5. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +6.649s
6. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +6.719s
7. James Fletcher, Team KBS, +7.587s
8. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, +10.248s
9. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +12.932s
10. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +14.061s