SBK Moscow: Giugliano Takes First Pole As Sykes Slips Up

by Louis Suddaby

Davide Giugliano took advantage of a mistake from Tom Sykes to claim the first pole position of his World Superbike career in Moscow. The Italian pipped Chaz Davies with two minutes remaining of the final session which began in dramatic fashion with the demise of the Superpole favourite.

Sykes had comfortably set the pace in the two knockout sessions, going faster on a race tyre than anyone else could manage on a qualifier, and the question heading into SP3 seemed to merely how big a margin Tom would take pole by. However on his first lap of the session, that all changed as the front end of the Kawasaki folded through turn three, sending the Yorkshireman off into the gravel. In such a short session, there was no time for either rider of motorcycle to get back to the pits and the other eight competitors had been presented with a gilt-edged opportunity.

Davies looked set to grab it after clocking a 1:34.833, still three tenths slower than Sykes had gone in SP2, but with a couple of minutes remaining, Giugliano lowered the benchmark time to a 1:34.676 sending the Althea crew into raptures at their first pole since this meeting in 2012.

Eugene Laverty put in a late flyer to snatch third from Jonathan Rea while Marco Melandri and Carlos Checa will fancy their chances from fifth and sixth. Jules Cluzel will start seventh with the two leading championship contenders, Sylvain Guintoli and the disappointed Sykes, line astern in eighth and ninth. Guintoli’s task will be all the more difficult after dislocating his shoulder in a cycling accident earlier this week.


2013 eni Superbike World Championship – Round 8: Moscow
Superpole Result
Pos Rider Bike Team Best Time
1  Davide Giugliano Aprilia Althea Racing 1:34.676
2  Chaz Davies BMW BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK 1:34.833
3  Eugene Laverty Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 1:34.934
4  Jonathan Rea Honda PATA Honda World Superbike 1:35.058
5  Marco Melandri BMW BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK 1:35.115
6  Carlos Checa Ducati Team Ducati Alstare 1:35.220
7  Jules Cluzel Suzuki FIXI Crescent Suzuki 1:35.256
8  Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 1:36.113
9  Tom Sykes Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team No Time
Eliminated In SP2
10  Leon Camier Suzuki FIXI Crescent Suzuki 1:35.761
11  Max Neukirchner Ducati MR-Racing 1:35.788
12  Loris Baz Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 1:36.033
Eliminated In SP1
13  Leon Haslam Honda PATA Honda World Superbike 1:36.069
14  Ayrton Badovini Ducati Team Ducati Alstare 1:36.286
15  Michel Fabrizio Aprilia Red Devils Roma 1:36.329
Failed To Qualify For Superpole
16  Federico Sandi Kawasaki Pedercini Team 1:38.048
17  Vittorio Iannuzzo BMW Grillini Dentalmatic SBK 1:39.079
18  Lorenzo Savadori Kawasaki Pedercini Team 1:39.504

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More