BSB Oulton Park: Lowes Beats Byrne To Pole

by Louis Suddaby

Alex Lowes will start the opening race of this weekend’s Oulton Park triple header from pole position after outpacing Shane Byrne in qualifying this afternoon. The Samsung Honda rider did have a minor hiccup, crashing after setting his pole time, but both rider and machine will be ready to lead the field away in race one.

Lowes had been the man to beat in both knockout sessions but PJ Jacobsen was threatening on the Tyco Suzuki and set the first meaningful lap time of Q3, a 1:35.388. Teammate Josh Brookes came up two tenths short, continuing the pattern of the previous sessions, but Lowes had more than enough to take pole away from the American with a 1:35.238.

After making it through the first two sessions quietly and comfortably, Byrne finally came to life with three minutes to go with a 1:35.193, over half a second quicker than he’d gone before. Lowes though still had enough time, and more crucially, tyre life to respond and a 1:35.119 saw him regain pole position with a minute remaining. Byrne’s challenged ended there and despite having pole in the bag, Alex still managed to lose the front end at Shell Oils hairpin on his in-lap although the damage was minimal.

James Ellison clocked a 1:35.542 to sneak in front of Brookes, claiming the final place on the front row with the Australian relegated to row two where he will be joined by the returning Tommy Bridewell. The Wiltshire rider lost his place at Bathams Honda earlier in the summer but a new start at Halsall Racing Kawasaki has seen him back to his best, securing sixth on the grid. Jon Kirkham and Dan Linfoot complete the second row with Keith Farmer and James Westmoreland just behind after scraping into Q3.

Ryuichi Kiyonari wasn’t so lucky though after a miserable session. The three-time champion didn’t look happy with his Honda CBR1000RR at any stage and seventeenth was the best he could manage.


2013 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship – Round 7: Oulton Park
Qualifying Classification
Pos Rider Bike Team Best Time
1  Alex Lowes Honda Samsung Honda 1:35.119
2  Shane Byrne Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 1:35.193
3  PJ Jacobsen Suzuki Tyco Suzuki 1:35.388
4  James Ellison Yamaha Milwaukee Yamaha 1:35.542
5  Josh Brookes Suzuki Tyco Suzuki 1:35.582
6  Tommy Bridewell Kawasaki Halsall Racing Kawasaki 1:35.770
7  Jon Kirkham BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad 1:35.891
8  Dan Linfoot Honda Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Honda 1:36.157
9  Keith Farmer Kawasaki Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 1:36.215
10  James Westmoreland BMW Buildbase BMW Motorrad 1:36.556
Eliminated in Q2
11  Chris Walker Kawasaki Quattro Plant Kawasaki 1:36.558
12  Peter Hickman Honda Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Honda 1:36.739
13  Michael Rutter Honda Bathams Honda 1:36.855
14  Karl Harris Kawasaki PR Racing Kawasaki 1:36.891
15  Josh Waters Yamaha Milwaukee Yamaha 1:36.934
16  Jakub Smrz Honda Padgetts Honda 1:37.395
17  Ryuichi Kiyonari Honda Samsung Honda 1:37.491
18  Matteo Baiocco Ducati Rapido Sport Racing 1:37.495
Eliminated in Q1
19  Lee Costello Kawasaki Halsall Racing Kawasaki 1:38.259
20  Howie Mainwaring Kawasaki Tsingtao WKbikes Performance 1:38.283
21  Martin Jessopp BMW Riders Motorcycles 1:38.899
22  Aaron Zanotti Suzuki STEL Suzuki 1:39.349
23  Jamie Poole Kawasaki Quelch BSD Motorsport 1:40.951
24  Jenny Tinmouth Honda Two Wheel Racing No Time
25  Barry Burrell Kawasaki Quattro Plant Kawasaki No Time

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More