BRDC Formula 4

Barlow Inherits Snetterton Win After Morris Exclusion

2 Mins read

Seb Morris appeared to have claimed his maiden victory in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship in Round 20 at Snetterton, however his joy was short-lived as a technical infringement led to a post-race exclusion, giving the win to Jack Barlow.

Barlow started the ten lap encounter from pole position, with Morris alongside him. The duo both made good starts and were side by side into Riches on lap one, with Barlow just fending him off to retain the advantage.

Morris tried again on lap two, however the Hillspeed ace lost ground, with Gustavo Lima nipping past for second. Morris regained the place on lap four and began to close back onto Barlow’s rear wing.

After attempting a move around the outside of Riches on lap five, Morris finally made his move stick on lap eight at the Montreal hairpin. Barlow wasn’t prepared to settle for second and kept Morris within touching distance over the remainder of the race, but Morris fended him off to claim what he thought was his breakthrough win.

Post-race, the scrutineers report found that the rear gurney flap on Morris’ car did not meet the required measurements in the championship’s technical manual. The former Ginetta Junior champion’s subsequent exclusion handed Barlow his third win of the season.

Behind the leaders, Jake Hughes passed Lima on lap six to take third on the road and with it his ninth podium finish of the campaign, the championship leader having risen from sixth on the grid to fourth on the opening lap.

Matthew Graham passed Lima on the penultimate lap for fourth, which became a sixth podium of the season after Morris’ exclusion. The Sean Walkinshaw Racing driver was lucky to have survived a collision earlier in the race with Jake Dalton though, the race one winner having had to retire.

Lima lost further ground on the final lap, a coming together with Struan Moore, which eliminated the latter, allowing Charlie Robertson through for an eventual fourth place finish ahead of his HHC Motorsport team-mate Lima.

MGR Motorsport team-mates Diego Menchaca and Pietro Fittipaldi took sixth and seventh in the classified results respectively ahead of privateer James Greenway and Team KBSs James Fletcher, with Raoul Hyman completing the top ten.

2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Round twenty result:

1. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 10 laps
2. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +0.577s
3. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +1.944s
4. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +4.300s
5. Gustavo Lima, HHC Motorsport, +5.625s
6. Diego Menchaca, MGR Motorsport, +9.653s
7. Pietro Fittipaldi, MGR Motorsport, +10.017s
8. James Greenway, Privateer, +10.572s
9. James Fletcher, Team KBS, +10.719s
10. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +12.444s

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply