Junior Champion Woodhead Eyes 2014 Supercup Switch

2013 Ginetta Junior champions Harry Woodhead and HHC Motorsport are targeting a graduation into the Michelin Ginetta GT Supercup in 2014.

Woodhead wrapped up the Junior championship at Rockingham this past weekend following a sensational 2013 campaign, having taken a podium finish in all sixteen races so far this season, including eleven victories.

The 16 year old, who took ten victories in a row over the first half of the season, will follow in the footsteps of former Junior graduates like Tom Ingram, Andrew Watson and Pepe Massot if he joins the Supercup.

The move would be HHC Motorsport’s first venture into the championship, the Yorkshire-based outfit currently competing in BRDC Formula 4 alongside Ginetta Juniors.

“I’m 99% sure we’re moving up to the Supercup. We’re getting everything finalised now, so hopefully that’s our destination for next season,” Woodhead told thecheckeredflag.co.uk.

“We’ll try to get a fair bit of testing in before the season to get ready for the first race and hit the ground running. Andrew [Watson] and Pepe [Massot] were great drivers last season and they’ve gone on to take podiums this season. That’s what I’ll be hoping to do as well, the championship’s got a great field and to be fighting for wins first season would be amazing.”