Knockhill Returns On Expanded 2014 Clio Calendar

The Renault UK Clio Cup will make a return to Knockhill for the first time since 2010 next season as part of an expanded nine-event 2014 calendar.

The return to Scotland is the standout change to the calendar, which sees the championship adding an extra round to the eight weekend format that’s been in place since 2011.

Alongside the return to Knockhill, the series will also make a return to Silverstone at the expense of Thruxton, the Clio’s not racing at the high-speed Hampshire circuit for the first time in over a decade.

Series organisers hope to return to a 20 race calendar in 2015, having last supported all the BTCC events in 2010.

The championship’s last visit to Knockhill saw Dave Newsham crowned 2010 champion following two wins around his home circuit.

“Our teams wanted to expand the calendar next year, so we’ve worked closely with them to arrive at an 18-race schedule which we expect to be popular with existing competitors and new drivers alike,” said championship manager Simon North.

“We are delighted to be returning to Knockhill next year and Silverstone as well. All in all we feel we have a very strong calendar for 2014, our first season with the fourth generation car.”

While the format of the championship is set to remain the same with one ‘drop score’, one change for 2014 could be the introduction of a ‘Trophy Challenge’. The planned challenge is aimed at drivers who enter the championship late in the year, with each competitor able to count their best four results from the season to determine their placing.

2014 Renault UK Clio Cup Calendar:

Rds1&2  Brands Hatch Indy Circuit, Kent – 29th/30th March
Rds3&4  Donington Park National Circuit, Leicestershire – 19th/20th April
Rds5&6  Oulton Park Island Circuit, Cheshire – 7th/8th June
Rds7&8  Croft Circuit, North Yorkshire – 28th/29th June
Rds9&10  Snetterton Circuit, Norfolk – 2nd/3rd August
Rds11&12  Knockhill Circuit, Fife – 23rd/24th August
Rds13&14  Rockingham ISSC, Northamptonshire – 6th/7th September
Rds15&16  Silverstone National Circuit, Northamptonshire – 27th/28th September
Rds17&18  Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit, Kent – 11th/12th October