Mason And MGR Reunite For F4 Attack

Matt Mason has finalised a deal to complete the remainder of the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship season with series front-runners Mark Godwin Racing.

The 21 year old has been forced to sit out the season so far due to budget constraints, having finished runner-up in InterSteps last season with the Leicestershire-based outfit. Mason finished sixth in Formula Renault BARC in 2011, before returning to finish third in the 2012 Winter Series, taking two wins in total.

Mason, who will compete for the team at Snetterton this weekend and Donington Park at the end of the month, is sampling the car for the first time in testing at Snetterton on Wednesday.

“I’m very excited to be joining the BRDC F4 Championship and I’m delighted to be racing again with MGR,” said the Nottinghamshire-based racer. “I know the team well and as I’m in familiar surroundings, although the car is new to me, I’m confident of securing good results and maybe even some podiums.”

“This is an ideal opportunity for Matt to show his potential,” commented MGR Team Principal Mark Godwin. “It’s great to be working with him again. He’s very keen to make a good impression and is a very professional driver, and I look forward to working with him again in the final two rounds.”