Morcillo Keeps Wolf From The Door In Tight Qualifying

by James Broomhead
Motionsport were fastest in the second session, but couldn't move up the overall order (Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

Javier Morcillo and Manuel Cintrano’s Neil Garner Motorsport will start the Britcar 1000km from pole position, despite only ending the second qualifying session fifth fastest.

With the grid for tomorrow’s six hour race set by the cumulative best times in the two session Morcillo’s leading the first session by 0.686 was enough to protect pole position as the top five ended the session session covered by less than half a second.

Motionsport’s Wolf CN Prototype – shared by Pete Storey, Lars Viljoen and Ben Gower – was fastest in the second session with a time of 2:02.450 after finishing fifth in the earlier session, but with the front group so tightly packed it was not enough to move themselves off the inside of the third row, where they will be joined by Strata 21’s Praga R4SLM.

Behind the Neil Garner Motorsport Mosler – on a cumulative time of 4:04.637 – Team LNT’s Ginetta G55 GT3 will slot into second place having run second fastest in both of the sessions. The pair of GT3 Aston Martin Vantages will share the second row of the grid, that of Britcar regulars Horsepower Racing ahead of the Barwell Motorsport’s similar charge.

Neil Garner Motorsport's Mosler will start from pole for tomorrow's race (Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

Neil Garner Motorsport’s Mosler will start from pole for tomorrow’s race (Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

The front pack of the nine Class One cars are tantalisingly close, the top five cumulative times just 1.3 seconds apart.

BPM Racing drivers Ashley Woodman and Martin Byford will start from the lead of Class Two in their Renault Megane Trophy having topped the class in both sessions.

Nissan GT Academy Team RJN were – as they had been in the first session – the best of the Britcar Production Cup runners, a 2:14.229 in the second session resulting in a cumulative time of 4:29.217 and pole position by just over a second over the BMW M3 of Barclay Dougal and Anthony Mott.

Mike Robinson and Graham Johnson will start from the pole in Production Class Two – the Production leading Nissan the best of Class Three. Synchro Motorsport will lead Production Class Four, having overturned a one second deficit after the first session.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More