Robertson Wins Again To Close Inaugural F4 Season

Charlie Robertson has become the first driver in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship to take two wins in the same weekend after a dominant win in the final race of the 2013 season at Donington Park, the success securing him second place in the final championship standings.

Robertson started the season finale from pole position courtesy of setting the fastest lap from the weekend’s first two races combined, and the HHC Motorsport driver seized that advantage to lead the field into Redgate for the first time.

With Matt Mason and Jake Dalton starting a fierce race-long duel for second behind, Robertson was able to quickly establish a comfortable gap out front and was unchallenged en-route to his third win of the season.

“It was crucial to make a good start and I had a second and a half gap after the first lap,” said Robertson. “I could see Jake [Dalton] and Matt [Mason] battling behind me and I knew if I just kept my pace the same and kept putting in good lap times I’d be looking good for the win, and that’s what happened.  I’m really pleased with my weekend and the championship so I’d like to say a big thanks to HHC Motorsport and my parents who have helped me make this happen this weekend.”

Dalton started the race second on the grid, however a great start from Mason saw him leap ahead from third. Dalton regained the place back on lap two though, holding the place until the penultimate lap when Mason made a move stick at the Goddards hairpin.

Dalton fought back on the final lap through to grab second, with Mason taking his maiden Formula 4 podium in third.

Champion Jake Hughes battled his way through from eleventh on the grid to take fourth, with Raoul Hyman producing a similar run up the order to take fifth from twelfth. James Greenway took sixth ahead of Matthew Graham and Matt Bell, while the Hillspeed duo of Struan Moore and Seb Morris rounded out the top ten.

Morris’ result was particularly impressive, the 2011 Ginetta Junior champion having been pitched into a spin on the opening lap by Jack Barlow. While Barlow was forced into his first DNF of the season, Morris produced an excellent recovery drive to take tenth, a crucial result that claimed him third overall in the standings.

Also impressive was debutant Max Cornelius, the Chris Dittmann Racing driver running as high as fifth at one stage before eventually sliding down the order to a finish of fourteenth.

2013 BRDC F4 Championship Round 24 report: 

1. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, 12 laps
2. Jake Dalton, Lanan Racing, +6.517s
3. Matt Mason, MGR Motorsport, +6.716s
4. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +9.432s
5. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +11.882s
6. James Greenway, Privateer, +17.418s
7. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +18.813s
8. Matt Bell, Douglas Team E-Lites, +19.346s
9. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +21.048s
10. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +21.521s


Provisional Final 2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship Standings:

1. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing – 450pts
2. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport – 398pts
3. Seb Morris, Hillspeed – 380pts
4. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing – 376pts
5. Jake Dalton, Lanan Racing – 371pts
6. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing – 362pts
7. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport – 293pts
8. Matt Bell, Douglas Team E-Lites – 288pts
9. Struan Moore, Hillspeed – 275pts
10. Diego Menchaca, MGR Motorsport – 247pts