SBK Nurburgring Race Two: Davies Declared Early Winner

by Louis Suddaby

Chaz Davies took his second victory in as many years at the Nurburgring as an oil spillage halted proceedings for the second time in the day. The Welshman finished ahead of Eugene Laverty and Marco Melandri while Tom Sykes saw off Sylvain Guintoli for fourth, wrestling the championship lead from the Frenchman in the process.

Davies was involved in a fierce tussle with Laverty and his teammate Melandri but the Welshman’s expertise on the brakes proved decisive as he held off the pair until a crash for Matej Smrz at turn one dumped oil on the circuit. Learning the lessons from race one’s catastrophic conclusion, race direction threw out the red flags without hesitation.

“I am obviously super happy with the victory in race two”, commented Davies. “I was already happy with my podium in race one but I knew we could improve and so we did. I felt that my RR was a little bit better in certain areas of the track. It was still hard to brake but I tried all I could do to build a bit of a gap. It was a good battle with Eugene and Marco. The last couple of laps I just put my head down seeing if I could just get away from the guys fighting behind me. I was thinking that there couldn’t be another red flag but just in case I tried to stay in the lead. In the end the red flag came and I was in right place at the right time. A big Thank you to my team; they did a great job this weekend and we got a double podium again. I wish all the best and a speedy recovery to the guys that got injured today.”

After coming into race two with a one point deficit to Guintoli, Tom Sykes moved a point ahead of the Aprilia rider by beating him to fourth while Davide Giugliano finished sixth on the Althea Aprilia. Polesitter Ayrton Badovini took seventh with his teammate Carlos Checa a disappointing tenth behind Michel Fabrizio and home rider Max Neukirchner.


2013 eni Superbike World Championship
Riders Championship Standings After Round 10: Nurburgring
Pos Rider Bike Team Wins Pts
1  Tom Sykes Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 6 287
2  Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 1 286
3  Marco Melandri BMW BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK 3 257
4  Eugene Laverty Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team 4 247
5  Chaz Davies BMW BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK 3 221
6  Loris Baz Kawasaki Kawasaki Racing Team 1 180
7  Jonathan Rea Honda PATA Honda World Superbike 1 176
8  Michel Fabrizio Aprilia Red Devils Roma 156
9  Jules Cluzel Suzuki FIXI Crescent Suzuki 123
10  Davide Giugliano Aprilia Althea Racing 121
11  Leon Camier Suzuki FIXI Crescent Suzuki 114
12  Ayrton Badovini Ducati Team Ducati Alstare 107
13  Max Neukirchner Ducati MR-Racing 84
14  Carlos Checa Ducati Team Ducati Alstare 80
15  Leon Haslam Honda PATA Honda World Superbike 63
16  Federico Sandi Kawasaki Pedercini Team 36
17  Vittorio Iannuzzo BMW Grillini Dentalmatic SBK 18
18  Ivan Clementi BMW HTM Racing 18
19  Mark Aitchison Ducati Team Effenbert Liberty Racing 15
20  Niccolo Canepa Ducati Team Ducati Alstare 11
21  Alexander Lundh Kawasaki Pedercini Team 10
22  Fabrizio Lai Kawasaki Pedercini Team 8
23  Markus Reiterberger BMW Vanzon-Remeha-BMW 7
24  Glenn Allerton BMW Next Gen Motorsports 6
25  Matej Smrz Yamaha Yamaha Motor Deutschland 4
26  Jamie Stauffer Honda Team Honda Racing 4
27  Kosuke Akiyoshi Honda PATA Honda World Superbike 2
28  Noriyuki Haga BMW Grillini Dentalmatic SBK 2
Next Round: Istanbul Park (September 15th)

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More